Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

should I resize me Lapua brass?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2011, 01:12 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: n.w. pennsylvania
Posts: 90
should I resize me Lapua brass?

I just got some new Lapua .308 for my new gas gun.. I normally dont shoot this high quality brass so I always resize new brass, Do I need run lapua brass through a die or can I start reloading it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2011, 01:18 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

I would neck size it, because you'll find some of you brass got deformed during shipping, its usually not bad but I would rather have them uniformed, I also turn them, for the same reason... That's just me, usually you don't have to...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2011, 01:48 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: n.w. pennsylvania
Posts: 90
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

title should say: should I resize NEW lapua brass? sorry and thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2011, 04:54 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 8,225
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

No experience with Lapua brass. And that's a sad thing!!!!

I would look at the case mouths to see if chamfering would be in order. This is necessary with all Rem/Win offerings I have used.

If nothing is necessary and case mouths are uniform, I'd proceed to load and shoot.
__________________
I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2011, 06:42 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 553
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

Yes you should size them. You may not do so, but I use an expander then size them to get my standard neck tension. Lots of folks dont feel the need to uniform the primer pockets, but I do, as well as the standard brass prep of chamfer and debur the brass.

Jeffvn
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:09 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mountians of SW NC, near Asheville
Posts: 1,596
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

Goodness. Me doubts it will make a bit of difference. ??
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2011, 06:16 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 3,280
Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

Neck size to assure uniform neck tension.

Uniform primer pockets and flash holes.

Load 'em and shoot 'em
__________________
I'm not gonna shoot here. I'm gonna shoot waaaaaaaay over there!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: should I resize me Lapua brass?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will neck sizing die work to resize new .30-06 brass to .338-06? isptroop38 Reloading 12 07-13-2012 10:47 PM
What is the difference between Norma and Lapua 338 Lapua Magnum brass? jhegg Reloading 8 05-22-2012 12:12 AM
Does anyone here ever resize without an expanderball? KQguy Reloading 17 11-27-2008 12:46 PM
How should I resize my Model 700 300 WSM? GlennRMK Reloading 1 08-18-2008 11:54 AM
neck Resize redbone Reloading 1 05-02-2007 02:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC