close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

should I resize me Lapua brass?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 04-16-2011, 01:12 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: n.w. pennsylvania
Posts: 90
should I resize me Lapua brass?

I just got some new Lapua .308 for my new gas gun.. I normally dont shoot this high quality brass so I always resize new brass, Do I need run lapua brass through a die or can I start reloading it?
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 04-16-2011, 01:18 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Posts: 693
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    I would neck size it, because you'll find some of you brass got deformed during shipping, its usually not bad but I would rather have them uniformed, I also turn them, for the same reason... That's just me, usually you don't have to...
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 04-16-2011, 01:48 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: n.w. pennsylvania
    Posts: 90
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    title should say: should I resize NEW lapua brass? sorry and thanks
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 04-16-2011, 04:54 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2004
    Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
    Posts: 8,859
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    No experience with Lapua brass. And that's a sad thing!!!!

    I would look at the case mouths to see if chamfering would be in order. This is necessary with all Rem/Win offerings I have used.

    If nothing is necessary and case mouths are uniform, I'd proceed to load and shoot.
    __________________
    I may be the slowest guy on the mountain . . . . but . . . . I'm on the mountain!
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 04-17-2011, 06:42 AM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Location: Las Vegas, NV
    Posts: 613
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    Yes you should size them. You may not do so, but I use an expander then size them to get my standard neck tension. Lots of folks dont feel the need to uniform the primer pockets, but I do, as well as the standard brass prep of chamfer and debur the brass.

    Jeffvn
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 04-18-2011, 05:09 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Location: Mountians of SW NC, near Asheville
    Posts: 1,595
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    Goodness. Me doubts it will make a bit of difference. ??
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 04-18-2011, 06:16 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2008
    Location: Falls Church, VA
    Posts: 3,474
    Re: should I resize me Lapua brass?

    Neck size to assure uniform neck tension.

    Uniform primer pockets and flash holes.

    Load 'em and shoot 'em
    __________________
    I'm not gonna shoot here. I'm gonna shoot waaaaaaaay over there!
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: should I resize me Lapua brass?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Will neck sizing die work to resize new .30-06 brass to .338-06? isptroop38 Reloading 12 07-13-2012 10:47 PM
    What is the difference between Norma and Lapua 338 Lapua Magnum brass? jhegg Reloading 8 05-22-2012 12:12 AM
    Does anyone here ever resize without an expanderball? KQguy Reloading 17 11-27-2008 12:46 PM
    How should I resize my Model 700 300 WSM? GlennRMK Reloading 1 08-18-2008 11:54 AM
    neck Resize redbone Reloading 1 05-02-2007 02:42 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC