Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Should I crimp my .243 hunting bullets?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2013, 12:11 PM

Should I crimp my .243 hunting bullets?

I am brand new to reloading and need a little help. I am about to crank out my first batch of hand loaded rounds ever. I have the cases cleaned, sized, and prepped. I am now ready to prime, add powder, and seat a bullet. However, I am not sure whether I should crimp my bullets or not.

I am loading for a Tikka T3 .243. I bought two different bullets to try: 85 gn Sierra Gameking HPBT, and 100 gn Sierra Pro Hunter SP. Neither of these bullets have a cannelure. I am trying to load rounds that will be "highly accurate hunting rounds." Will be trying Varget and IMR-4064 powders.

If I don't crimp, will seating depth change on my rounds as they are in the magazine of my gun or loaded into the chamber from the detachable magazine? What about if I keep 4 or 5 extras in my pocket while hunting? Will that bump them out of whack? How easily will these bullets move around in the neck? And....is crimping bullets without a cannelure something you really shouldn't do anyway? Thanks for your help.
Old 10-24-2013, 12:55 PM
Silver Member

Re: Should I crimp my .243 hunting bullets?