Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Setting up a Full Length die.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2009, 01:07 AM
Silver Member

Re: Setting up a Full Length die.

I did a search on headspacing so I can try to understand it. I am fairly new to reloading. I bought an RCBS Precision Mic for my 22-250. I had a hard time understanding the directions until I started reading this topic. My fire formed once fired shells were showing .002 over factory new. I just kept sizing them until I got it to .001. I am assuming that is correct for me? Also, at first I kept using the same shell until I got the correct# and then did the rest of them (checking every 3rd one to be sure they came out the same). Were you using the same shell or did you use a different one everytime you needed to seat a little further? Thanks for the info.
Old 09-05-2009, 05:19 AM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker1 View Post
I did a search on headspacing so I can try to understand it. I am fairly new to reloading. I bought an RCBS Precision Mic for my 22-250. I had a hard time understanding the directions until I started reading this topic. My fire formed once fired shells were showing .002 over factory new. I just kept sizing them until I got it to .001. I am assuming that is correct for me? Also, at first I kept using the same shell until I got the correct# and then did the rest of them (checking every 3rd one to be sure they came out the same). Were you using the same shell or did you use a different one everytime you needed to seat a little further? Thanks for the info.