Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Savage 111 LRH 6.5-284 Loading Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 12:13 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Savage 111 LRH 6.5-284 Loading Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShootnMathews View Post
One of these days I will buy that Hornaday guage.

Greyfox. Please elaborate on how you can check the throat and what cause the throat to eat up. I'm new to these super calibers.

Also I'd love to hear some of everyone's cartridge lengths to tip of bullet. It sounds like mine may be much longer. Which is probably why I have near no pressure signs with 57.3 grains of Retumbo.

Once I get this thing all dialed in and my shooter program calibrated I'll order a CTS label for the turret for my residing area since this is where 90% of its use will be. After that this rifle will be lucky to see 50 rounds a year. Most likelY more like 20, so throat erosion and barrel burnout aren't really high concerns of mine. This will be my long range hunting rifle.

Most of my long range shooting is with a Mosin Nagant that I built as a tinker toy. I really enjoy shooting it, it's my go to LR fun gun. It shoot 1/2-3/4 MOA pretty consistant and really I thing shooting this round at long range makes me a better shooter. You have to be twice as accurate at judging wind and distance because of the fast drop and heavy wind push. Here's a pic of my fun gun.