Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

rookie dealing with possible pressure signs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 08:11 AM
Bronze Member

rookie dealing with possible pressure signs

I'm new to reloading and long range shooting in general. I recently had a 300 rum put together and loaded some base loads up for it. Using Hornady reloading manual and a base load for 180 bullet, I got one casing that had 2 major dents/creases starting at the neck and running half way down to the base of the case.

My gun smith initially got a few pressure signs with factory ammo on the rim of the case, but he was able to adjust the head space and correct the issue and had no more pressure signs after that.

i think this was shot #8 of the day and shot a couple more times after this casing and didnt see any more issues.

I have searched and searched and have yet to find an example and explaination on the web.

Any ideas?

thanks,

Old 10-08-2011, 12:21 PM
Bronze Member

Re: rookie dealing with possible pressure signs

S.B.-