Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Resizing issue

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 10:37 PM
Bronze Member

Resizing issue

I have a set of dies from CH tool and die corp. in 300 wby mag. Does anyone have any experience with this company? When I try to re-size my brass they keep getting stuck in the dies. I've tried three different lubes but I can not get around this problem, it just keeps happening. Although I have had these dies for a while, its my first time using them. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or what? I've never experienced this issue. Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks
Ryan
Old 01-30-2012, 12:43 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Resizing issue

Have you disassembled the dies and cleaned them?

Can you tell of they've been scratched or scored inside?

When you did get your cases unstuck, did you measure to see if they come out with proper dimensions?

Imperial Sizing Wax is pretty good stuff.
Old 01-30-2012, 04:54 AM
Gold Member

I agree that the dies may still have transport grease inside them that has gone dry . If they are new but have not been used at all and stored the grease can dry and become a problem.
Also the brass may be dirty . Polish up the brass with fine steel wool and wipe them off .
Dismantle the die. Get a wad of fine steel wool and wrap it around a stick ( wood only ) and wet it with bore solvent . Then scrub out the die push up hard so some of the steel wool goes up into the neck area . Then wash it out with Turpentine or some solvent. Inspect the inside of the die if it looks smooth it should be ok. Lengthwise scratches will not cause sticking cases , they mark brass though. Circular reamer marks or scores can cause case sticking .
Use a purpose made sizing lube . I like RCBS liquid .