Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 96
Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

I have some questions about how to resize brass from 308 to 260 Remington... but I guess it would be any caliber to another.... I have had some problems with Federal brass that I resized. So what I did so you can tell me what I did wrong....

I used Federa 308 brass from gold metal match ammo. I ran it through my Redding full length resizing die, then I trimmed them to length and then loaded them up with 125 accubond using 45.5 grains of RL19 with a Win primer. I set them at 2.780 (which was just touching the lands).

I took my son out to shoot his new rifle for his birthday and on the second round I had a primer blow out the back and break both the extractor and the ejector on his BRAND new Savage Model 11 260..... a week before elk season starts here for him.

I have ordered new parts and they will be here in just the nick of time.... I pulled all the other bullets because I am scared of shooting them... So my first question is what did I do wrong????

Do I have to ream the necks? At a total loss why I blew the primers out... The load I used was a middle of the road load and no where near max...

Thanks

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2012, 09:27 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,389
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

Gee man I don't know I use lake city brass in my 260 neck it down in redding dies, never had an issue. Any change you double charged the case?
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
If you want to shoot Bergers start here!
http://www.longrangehunting.com/arti...accuracy-1.php
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2012, 09:52 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 96
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

I really dont think that I got one double charged.... I did think that I had transposed the numbers from 45.5 to 54.5.... but when i pulled all the other rounds they were all spot on at 45.5.... I did notice that two of the other federal brass that i pulled had pretty loose primer pockets... Could that have been it... with the bullet touching the lands?

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2012, 10:55 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SOCIALIST CONTROLLED TERRITORY OF NEW YORK
Posts: 4,389
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanG View Post
I really dont think that I got one double charged.... I did think that I had transposed the numbers from 45.5 to 54.5.... but when i pulled all the other rounds they were all spot on at 45.5.... I did notice that two of the other federal brass that i pulled had pretty loose primer pockets... Could that have been it... with the bullet touching the lands?

Ryan
I suppose a loose primer may have caused it but to be honest its hard to say. Maybe someone else reading it will be able to better tell what happened.
__________________
"People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf"
If you want to shoot Bergers start here!
http://www.longrangehunting.com/arti...accuracy-1.php
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2012, 11:20 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Posts: 2,719
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

Maybe the neck was so thick that there wasnt any clearance between the neck and bullet Compare the loaded round thickness at the neck vs a neck after firing. If that made any sense.
__________________

I'm 15
"Firearms are second only to the Constitution in importance; they are the peoples' liberty's teeth."
~George Washington

"The only advantage a light rifle has is weight, all other advantages go to the heavy rifle."
~ JE Custom

Biggest fail of 2014 so far... http://www.longrangehunting.com/foru...ea-ftf-128972/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2012, 02:06 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: N.D.
Posts: 2,946
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

Did you work up the load in this brass?? If you worked up the load in another brand with more volume and had a tight neck clearance like Riley suggests you could have easily gone up enough pressure wise to cause your trouble. You were right to pull the other rounds down; the load needs attention before someone gets hurt.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2012, 09:19 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 96
Re: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??

So I am going to have to confess that I did not work up this load.... Like I said before it was the mid road load listed in the Nosler manual. I dont have any more of the fired brass as I tossed them all because I was worried that I would have the same problems if I tried again. But I did just look at the 260 new brass that came yesterday and the neck loaded is .290 and the Federal 308 brass resized is .292 loaded.... would .002 make that much difference?

Wow do I sound like a newbe here..... But when it comes to this I really am I guess.... So if its the necks that were too thick how do I correct that? What tools are needed? I have never messed with my neck thickness EVER....

Again thanks all!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Resizing brass from 308 t0 260??
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resizing Lapua .300 Win brass to .338 Win tacsniper0888 Reloading 6 08-22-2012 05:24 AM
Help with 300 Weatherby brass resizing problems wolff Reloading 12 12-10-2011 06:46 PM
resizing new brass? airstream Reloading 6 03-02-2011 09:17 AM
Resizing .300RUM brass to .338Edge after 4 firings? Troutslayer Reloading 2 01-20-2010 11:28 PM
25 ACP Brass and Resizing Die The Butcher Guns For Sale 1 07-10-2004 10:53 AM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.52%
80 Votes
NO - 50.81%
125 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 16.67%
41 Votes
Total Votes: 246
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC