Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Reloads from a CETME

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2008, 09:27 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pelham, AL
Posts: 182
Reloads from a CETME

Do any of you have a CETME?

I recently purchased one and had it at the range today. Well, it has a fluted chamber and now I have fluted brass. Has anyone tried reloading these or should I just scrap them? I really don't want ruptures or head separations.

Rocky
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2008, 04:18 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Memphis, TN. Soon to be Casper, WY.
Posts: 494
I've not used the 308 CETME but have used brass that's been shot in one, or several... I've reloaded the brass and used it in a bolt gun with no ill effects. I've got an MP5 that I've reloaded the 9mm brass from several times with no problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:25 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,034
Rocky, do some comparative measurements on unfired rounds and then on the hulls after firing. Look for swelling and lengthening. It's also good to take a fired hull and try it in the chamber (by hand) rotating it about 90 deg each time. If it will chamber all 4 times, it didn't get blown or pulled (bent) out of shape. If the hulls aren't bent or bulged or stretched badly, they can be resized and loaded again. Some of them will be dented, or the mouths will be flattened, but with some judgement these can be resized and reloaded too. The flattened ones won't go into the die without some hand work first. If they have to be trimmed after just one firing, I probably wouldn't reload them. If you can find some cheap ball, try it and maybe not bother reloading. The fluting from the chamber won't stop you from reloading the hulls, but might cause them to split after very few firings. I reloaded some for a HK 91 without splitting any hulls, but I never reloaded any of them more than twice. Total of 3 firings. They get pretty beat up.

Good shooting, Tom
__________________
Texas State Rifle Association Life Member
NRA Endowment Life Member

A big fast bullet will beat a little fast bullet every time
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-11-2008, 08:21 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 78
Depends on what you want to reload for as well. Blastin ammo for an FAL or cetme...probably GTG.

Loading for long range shooting....probably a lot more work than it is worth.

These chambers tend to be headspaced to longer NATO specs, and a little sloppy on the chamber..can make the used brass very bannana like.
__________________
Bullets have well documented performance specifications.

Min Velocity info is available, and describes the performance floor of the bullet... DON'T allow yourself to reference F.P.E. as an accurate descriptor of killing power.. You are smarter than a copy editor, and you understand that you can determine maximum (reliable) effective range by comparing your drop chart to published bullet data....... And, dog-on-it, people like you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Reloads from a CETME
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
338 reloads Ray Prager Reloading 0 04-17-2010 01:56 PM
reloads Ehden Reloading Equipment and Components 2 10-17-2009 09:29 AM
.300 Win Mag Reloads Kobra Reloading 4 07-14-2008 11:57 AM
WTS/T CETME needs to go for new build rocky_lange Guns For Sale 1 05-06-2008 12:48 PM
cetme 308 bigbearhunter Guns For Sale 0 11-22-2005 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC