Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Reloading "Kits" - need advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 05:57 PM

Reloading "Kits" - need advice

Been shooting alot of .308 and it's getting very expensive. Need to start reloading. Looking at several reloading kits available on Midway and Brownell's but would appreciate some input on them.

The Lee Anniversary kit seems the best value but not sure if it's a POS. The Hornady, Dillon and RC kits are at least twice as much or more.

On a very tight budget therefore willing to make due with a lower priced system but don't want to have anything break or give me trouble because I'm very new to reloading, so need the ammo to roll-up correctly sans equipment failure.

Another concern - do these kits really include everything needed to reload (obviously aside from dies and bullets, supplies etc)? Right now just interested in reloading 308 and have been saving all .308 brass.

Thanks very much for any advice!!
Old 06-27-2012, 06:40 PM
Gold Member

Re: Reloading "Kits" - need advice

That Lee kit has gotten a lot of good reviews on MidwayUSA for what it's worth. It does not include everything you need unless you're lucky. Usually when I resize factory shells they become too long and need to be trimmed; the Lee kit does not include a trimmer, but I don't think any of the kits include trimmers from other manufacturers either.

If you are trying to get into the hobby as cheap as possible, I'd look on ebay for good deals on used equipment. I have never personally used Lee presses, I've handled them and didn't love how they felt, but most guys that use them swear that everybody else pays too much money for other brands.
Old 06-27-2012, 07:12 PM
Gold Member