Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Reloading Investment

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2013, 03:32 PM

Reloading Investment

What would it cost for me to start doing my own reloading? Remember I have never done this before. I plan on reloading 308 ammo for 1000 yard shooting and 223 for shorter distances.

Thanks, Jack
Old 10-29-2013, 04:00 PM
Silver Member

Re: Reloading Investment

anywhere from a few hundred to a few thousand depending on the quality you want.
Old 10-29-2013, 07:30 PM
Platinum Member

I think you can get set-up to load highly precise ammo for $800 or so, a fair amount less if you go with some lower-end equipment on the front end. Reloading .308 and .223 - are you looking for volume (ie progressive press) or slow and meticulous (single stage press). That decision alone will drive what you get and how much it will cost.
Old 10-30-2013, 06:19 AM

Mainly looking to reload for 1000 yards or better. And over the counter for this type ammo is large so I am also looking to save money over the long term. Not looking for large volumes just percision and more kick.
Old 10-30-2013, 11:07 AM
Silver Member

you can get a good set up for anywhere from $500.00 (single stage) to $1000.00 (progressive) that will have you set for a very long time.
If you go cheaper you will still get high quality ammo but, you will most likely be getting upgrades in the near future.
Hornady sells the locknload AP kit where all you will need after the kit is your dies and shell plates. Also they sell the locknload classic kit where again you will need dies and shell holders. Of course Lee, RCBS and lyman also offer good kits.
You will get many responses here (we all have our own humble opinions)