Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Reloading belted cartridges

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2011, 03:03 PM
Gold Member

Reloading belted cartridges

Well I have been roloading for a couple years for my 300 wsm and will be acquiring a 7 rem mag. The pocess I use for sizing my 300 wsm brass , no belt, is as follows for fired brass. To determine how much resizing I want I put the resizing/de-priming die in but screwed way off the full length sizing. I run the case through the press and the then check it in my rifle. The bolt always closes stiff the first time. I continue this process making very small turns and re-checking how the bolt closes. I do this until the bolt closes with what I feel is just right resistance so that I can cycle rounds smoothly as this is a hunting gun. I then clean the flash holes and chamber/deburr, then they go in the tumbler, then prime, charge and seat bullets. My main question is this method appropriate in gereral and if so for the belted cases as well. I heard that people have been spacing belted cases of the case heads and not using the belt, is this is true is this how you would do that? So any input as to if Im doing anything wrong or ways to improve my reloding would be appreciated. Thank you
Old 01-09-2011, 03:08 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Reloading belted cartridges

I use a different technique to set up my resizing dies using Larry Willis' "Digital Headspace Gauge". I set it up for a .002" bump on the shoulder using the following procedure:

1. I take a case fire formed in my firearm. The case should be a tight fit so that it's as close as possible to chamber dimensions.
2. Set the case in the Digital Headspace Gauge and zero the gauge (can use Hornady or RCBS gauges). Here's the link:
Innovative Technologies - Reloading Equipment