Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Reloading for the AR10

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Re: Reloading for the AR10

I would always start at the recommended lowest load and work my way up just like any other load. I've heard, but have no scientific data to back it up, that loading between autoloaders and bolts is no different. I have an adjustable block on mine and tune it to just-cycling and no more. On my loads lately on a DPMS LR-308, I'm using IMR-4064 below Hodgdon's maximum, but above most others' maximum for that powder and that bullet (175 gr Sierra MK HPBT). Seems like IMR-4064 gives the best MV's at acceptable pressures and I like it. I full-length resize every round because it is an autoloader and I use CCI-34 primers because they are designed for free-floating firing pins. I guess the bottom line is, that no, I wouldn't back off on anything so long as you use the standard procedure of starting at minimum recommended load and working your way up, constantly looking for pressure signs. Then again, that's just academic and you know it already.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:28 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 242
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Thanks guys. I reloaded some 168 SMKs and found that 43.0 grn of Varget gave my under 1", 3-shot groups through my 16" barreled DPMS AP4. I think a new trigger will make those groups even smaller.

Any advice on AR-15 triggers? The DPMS LR308 takes the standard AR-15 trigger assembly.

j
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2010, 10:58 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 14
Re: Reloading for the AR10

I just ordered a Jewell for the DPMS. The DPMS trigger is pitiful, to say the least. I could let you know in about a week on the Jewell. Web searches indicate Jard is inconsistent and Giselle is very expensive but good, but you'd have to find out on your own about those. There are also folks who do aftermarket mods like polishing and such, on the stock trigger, and they are apparently very well done. I've heard those are very inexpensive compared to replacing the trigger.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:37 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 242
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Thanks. I'll look for your post.

J
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-08-2010, 05:25 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Black River Falls, WI
Posts: 212
Re: Reloading for the AR10

I had my trigger done by Bill Springfield. Although not nearly as crisp as say a Jewell, it is very good for only $35 and the turn around time is fast. I use mine for close in woods hunting, so benchrest accuracy isn't a concern. Even with this trigger, I can still group most loads at or below 1 moa.

I am planning on doing a .260 build in the next couple of years for long range plinking and varmint hunting. I will spend the money and get a good trigger for that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-08-2010, 08:20 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 242
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Most gunsmiths around Salt Lake have just suggested a new trigger. I figure that I can put it in no problem.
__________________
J



AR's for coyotes
25-06 M70 for coyotes
6.5-06 Remington Custom w/Leupold Mark IV 6.5-20 tactical setup
AR10 for mule deer
6.5-06 M700 for mule deer
338 Lapua Mag M700 for elk
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-11-2010, 07:42 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: AK
Posts: 157
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Can't use slow burn rate powders with gas operated semi rifles...

IMR 4064 & 4895 are about the standards; Varget and Reloader 15 also are excellent.

The Sierra manual has a section on match ammunition, check out the loads for Service Rifle and use them as your guide.


The RRA 2 stage NM trigger is pretty decent for $130. Might want to use an RCBS Precision Mic or Wilson Case Gauge on your DPMS to evaluate your chamber dimensions. Can spend a lot of money on a match trigger, but if your chamber is crowding the far end of a No-Go dimension, which is to say it is very long OAL; you won't get the performance you expect, if shooting commercial or even match loads. Then there is the barrel itself. Not like DPMS puts match grade barrels on its production rifles.

Glen Zelliger's books Competitive AR one and two are both good reads and can give you many insights about getting all possible accuracy from your DPMS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Reloading for the AR10
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AR10 Build? Alaska_Seth AR15/10 Rifles 2 08-23-2011 12:22 AM
AR10 Loads jlamb AR15/10 Rifles 1 05-06-2011 12:56 PM
M1A or AR10? Greywolf18 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 6 09-08-2010 08:17 PM
Armalite AR10 A2 rocky_lange Guns For Sale 0 06-17-2008 01:01 PM
WTS Armalite AR10 setup as AR10-T (NE) theozz Guns For Sale 0 01-17-2008 01:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC