Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Reloading for the AR10

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:51 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 242
Reloading for the AR10

Does anybody reload for the AR10 in 308? I'm going to just use standard data for 150grn BTSPs and RL15. Has anybody backed off their loads because the AR10 is a semi-auto action?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 12:19 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 151
Re: Reloading for the AR10

I load for a DPMS 308 and use standard load data. If the gas system on a AR is configured correctly then there is no reason standard data can't be use. This is where an adjustable gas system comes in. It is not something that is a must but is sure is nice when getting thing tuned correctly (especially when suppressing a gas .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2010, 08:36 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 242
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2010, 09:33 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 848
Re: Reloading for the AR10

I called Sierra and the ballistic tech said back off
1.5 gr. From max
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2010, 11:13 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sedalia, MO
Posts: 1,253
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Jlamb,

Same data should apply, just make sure you're using powders suitable for the gas operation of the action; basically mid-range burning speeds such as 4895, Varget, and yes, RL-15. You should heed the advice to back down if you're using military 7.62mm brass, as it is a bit thicker than the commercial stuff. It's also good to use in autoloaders, since it's made with gas operation in mind.

If you haven't loaded for autos before, they're different and need to be treated as such. Small base dies, possibly, but full length resizing ALWAYS. Use chamber gages on the completed ammo, and use them or a bump gage to set your dies for resizing. Not the same thing as loading for a bolt gun, but not really difficult, either.

Kevin Thomas
Lapua USA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2010, 11:42 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 366
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Have loaded for auto-loaders learned that the small base do a good job and
usually get about 4 or 5 reloads on your brass, military spec holds up the best.
Powders from H332 to H414 will work, varget and reloader 15 seen to be the
standard but h4895, blc2, W748,h335, tac, 4064, Imr 8208 all do very well.
Imr 8208 tested recently showed great results..
Varget at 44.5 win brass cci 200 showed good results in a couple of semi-autos.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2010, 11:44 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Black River Falls, WI
Posts: 212
Re: Reloading for the AR10

Loading for your AR10 isn't much different than any other gun. I have 3 AR15's and 1 LR308 (DPMS' version of the AR10). I use the standard load data. I do the same with my gas guns as I do with my bolt guns, start low. I will usually back off a couple grains at least and then work my way up. Pressure signs will be about the same, so nothing new there.

As for small base dies, I think that all depends on the gun. What I found with my .308 is that I need to keep my brass somewhat clean. If it has some sizing lube or grime, it may give me problems with continued shooting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Reloading for the AR10
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AR10 Build? Alaska_Seth AR15/10 Rifles 2 08-23-2011 12:22 AM
AR10 Loads jlamb AR15/10 Rifles 1 05-06-2011 12:56 PM
M1A or AR10? Greywolf18 Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 6 09-08-2010 08:17 PM
Armalite AR10 A2 rocky_lange Guns For Sale 0 06-17-2008 01:01 PM
WTS Armalite AR10 setup as AR10-T (NE) theozz Guns For Sale 0 01-17-2008 01:11 AM

Current Poll
Do You Think Slingshots Should Be Legalized For Hunting Brown Bear?
Yes - 47.20%
911 Votes
No - 52.80%
1,019 Vote
Total Votes: 1,930
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC