Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Reloading 7mm Rem mag

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 09:57 PM
Silver Member

Reloading 7mm Rem mag

I am still fairly new to reloading. I did it when I was younger with my dad but am getting back into it. I bought a new savage 7mm rem mag. I have some 162gr Hornady SSV's, leftover IMR4831 powder, and Federal 215 primers. I was told to get new brass instead of reusing the old 7mm brass that I have. What brass maker should I get? What is the correct procedure for reloading new brass? Does it have to be FL resized or sized at all? Do I need to trim them?
Old 08-31-2009, 10:46 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Reloading 7mm Rem mag

If you are getting new brass, I would recommend Norma for the 7mm Rem Mag, that is what I use.

I usually resize new brass just enough to make the necks round. I'll lightly chamfer the neck to ease the bullet seating process. I uniform the flash hole and the primer pocket.

Then after it's fired once, I'll trim the lot to a common size (will trim them all to the length of the shortest piece of brass). I'll then chamfer lightly the inside and outside of the necks and polish the inside of the neck and the chamfer area with some steel wool (wrapped around a bronze brush chucked in my drill press for the inside of the neck and some steel wool stuffed inside a socket that is chucked into my drillpress for the chamfer area).

Then reload as normal. I always measure the headspace of my once fired brass and try to match that with my full length resizing. I use the Hornady cartridge comparator kit (headspace case gauge kit) and my calipers to measure and document the once fired length.

I always work my loads up over a chronograph, so I know everything about ever shot I take.

Hope this helps.