Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Reloading

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2011, 08:04 PM
Bronze Member

Reloading

I'm just getting started in reloading,I have been shooting several years mostly target and coyotes but wanted to start making my own. I bought an RCBS kit and some of the brass prep tools, I have a few questions about some stuff I thought I would shoot out there. I have a digital caliper (hornaday) is there a need for an actual micrometer for reloading? also is there a real need to turn the necks on the brass for a factory rifle? I have a remm 700 22-250. My first batch of ammo using nosler 55 gr ball tips was a 1/4 by 1/4 of an inch at 50yrds, just wanted to see if everything worked. also is there any need for a concentricity tool? or just best to turn the cartridge as seating the bullet (I have RCBS dies) thanks !
Old 07-01-2011, 09:10 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Reloading

"..is there a need for an actual micrometer for reloading?"

Micrometer can be interesting to use but it's certainly not mandatory.

"..also is there a real need to turn the necks on the brass for a factory rifle?"

No, not normally. Passed a certain point turning only makes an already poor chamber fit worse.

" ..also is there any need for a concentricity tool?"

Need is a strong word; not many people have one so it sure isn't needed. Unless you're getting groups smaller than maybe .75 moa turning isn't likely to do a thing for you.

"best to turn the cartridge as seating the bullet"

I have a concentricity tool and I've never been able to see any benefit to turiing a case during seating. If a bullet starts off-axis it tends to stay that way.
Old 07-01-2011, 09:13 PM
Platinum Member