close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

Relaoding 6.8 SPC

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-24-2013, 03:30 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Relaoding 6.8 SPC

I am having a hard time reloading my 6.8 SPC. Nosler says a Remington 9 1/2 primer is needed, but it doesn't fit in the primer pocket of the case. I am fairly new to reloading and I am really confused as to what primer I need to use. Can any one bring some for site on this problem I am having.


Thank you
N8Dawg96
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 02-24-2013, 04:44 AM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: WI
    Posts: 40
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    Some 6.8 brass is small rifle primers and some is large rifle primers.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 02-24-2013, 11:14 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 6,921
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by N8Dawg96 View Post
    I am having a hard time reloading my 6.8 SPC. Nosler says a Remington 9 1/2 primer is needed, but it doesn't fit in the primer pocket of the case. I am fairly new to reloading and I am really confused as to what primer I need to use. Can any one bring some for site on this problem I am having.


    Thank you
    N8Dawg96

    I don,t know what brand of brass you have , but the 6.8 SPC is based on the old 30 Remington
    and they both use Large rifle primers.

    The case head is .422 compaired to the 223s .378. this allows the case to use a large rifle primer.

    Let us know what cases you are using and maybe we can help you.

    I have a 6.8 SPC and it uses the Large rifle primer (9 1/2 LR).

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 02-24-2013, 03:57 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2012
    Posts: 7
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    I am using a Hornady brand for my brass. Thank you for the help
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 02-25-2013, 07:13 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: May 2011
    Posts: 190
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by N8Dawg96 View Post
    I am using a Hornady brand for my brass. Thank you for the help
    Hornady and SSA use small rifle primers, Remington uses large.....
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 02-25-2013, 11:32 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2012
    Posts: 7
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    Thank You for all the help. I am now going on the hard look for WSR primers.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 03-02-2013, 10:18 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Posts: 168
    Re: Relaoding 6.8 SPC

    Is your rifle the traditional 6.8 SPC with a 1-10 twist barrel or the 6.8 SPCII with the 1-11 twist barrel? They like completely different loads and bullets. I have loaded for both, the SPCII with the higher pressure chamber and the slower twist for lighter faster bullets is awesome. I am getting 2,900fps out of a Boran Coated 100 gr Nosler which puts it on par with a 243 Win. instead of a AK-47. My older 6.8 is 2,555fps out of a 115 gr MTK which is about equal to a AK round 124 gr at 2425. The SPCII shoots flat for a AR platform. I know it's not a Grendel but everything I've shot at ended up in my freezer. They were all DRT, even a 350-400lb hog. Bang drop.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC