Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Problem Reloading, Brass gets stuck near belt

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2010, 03:12 PM

Problem Reloading, Brass gets stuck near belt

I just got into reloading, I'm using once shot brass (HSM ammo)that I shot out of a custom made .300 WM. When I measure just above the base of the brass (I guess this is called the belt) on my unshot ammo it measures .507, on my shot ammo it measures around .513, so it is expanding I'm assuming in my chamber.
I purchased a 2 die set from Redding (competition bullet seater and FL sizing dies for $140 from midwayusa. I want to get accurate target shooting at 1000 yards so I spent extra after talking with someone from Dillon, I'm using a new Dillon 550b press. Here are my questions, sorry if they are dumb, I'm a newbie:

1. I can't get the brass to FL size at station one because it hits about 1/4 inch above the belt area which is .006 larger than an unshot case and gets stuck in my die, even when using lube.
2. My bullets fall thru the neck when I place them on the dillon press for bullet seating. Is this because I'm not FL sizing and the neck isn't getting sized properly (I adjusted a the deprimer pin down because I couldn't get the die to FL size?
3. Also I'm havingtrouble with powder charges not being even using a Dillon scale? I'm using H1000 powder that looks like tiny cylinder shapes, not balls. Maybe it isn't feeding properly, I'm getting .5 gr changes from bullet to bullet.
4. I didn't even get a crimping die, don't I need that, they guy from Dillon said I didn't when reloading for .300 wm?? When I put a bullet into the 3rd stage of the press (bullet seating) it comes out and I can pull the bullet right out, there not tight at all.
Confused after 5 hrs of every stage not working properly and need help!!
Thanks
Jamey
Old 09-06-2010, 03:20 PM