Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Primer Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 04:59 PM
Bronze Member

Primer Question

Ok so here goes..... I am kind of new to reloading... been doing it for about a year now. I have had some old timers give me tips and pointers. My question for today is how much does the primer matter. Does it matter if you use a magnum primer for any large rifle, like say, 22-250.... I am getting ready to load up some 308's and right now only have magnum primers. Any help here would be awesome....

Ryan
Old 02-10-2011, 07:55 PM
Silver Member

Re: Primer Question

Ryan, yes , primers Do make a difference! Use the reloading manuals; more than one. Each have a wealth of knowledge in them. Don't just read the reloading chapters either; the best info is before (and after) the loading sections.
As to your question about primer differences; they do make a considerable difference and can get you into trouble by using the wrong ones. If you use a standard primer with ball powders in a "magnum" cartridge; that can lead to misfires and/or hangfires and poor accuracy. If you use a magnum primer where a standard one is indicated by the loading manual; you will get into high pressures and serious consequences! That's just a couple cases. It's very important to work up loads; always start low and work up. Some of the best results won't be at the top. Each gun is a law unto it's own; what works in one won't always work in another. Being careful as you load is most important. Listen to those folks who have had a long and successful reloading experience; and read the books !
Charles
Old 02-10-2011, 08:53 PM
Bronze Member

Thank you so much....