Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

OK I need help!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 01:08 PM

OK I need help!

I have a custom 338 lapua built on a lawton 8500 action with a hart barrel. I have been shooting and reloading HSM brass for the last 8 months with no problem. Now i picked up 100 rounds of lapua brass reloaded 20 and went to shoot. the first round acted a little funny not a stiff bolt lift but it didnt want to eject either. the next round however would not eject at all the bolt moves freely but will not eject i had to use a cleaning rod to tap it out. thinking it was just a bad piece of brass and checking for pressure marks i shot one more and this one did not even budge i had to use a cleaning rod to get it out again but it was much much stiffer. after examining everything i can not find a difference in the brass size or anything but if i even drop one of the already fired cases in there it is stuck all the other pieces eject just fine and i am loading the same exact amount of powder in the lapua brass as i was the HSM any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
val
ps. im shooting 84grs of h1000 behind a 300gr smk and federal 215m primers out of a 30 inch 1 in 9 twist barrel.
Old 09-27-2011, 01:22 PM
Platinum Member

Re: OK I need help!