Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

need to trim new brass???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 09:49 AM
Silver Member

need to trim new brass???

I am new to reloading. I've read that you need to measure everything and be absolutely consistent. I just got 100 Norma brass in 300 win mag. Just out of curiosity I measured the length of 10 randomly selected cases. They range from 2.06065 to 2.6120 inches in length. Is .0055 too much variance in new brass? Should I trim the new cases to get them exactly the same length before firing them for the first time? Will the variance in length effect accuracy is my biggest question. I know that you should trim the cases during the reloading process after they have been fired. I have the inserts to measure the chamber length.

Thanks.

Last edited by dmax1800; 06-14-2013 at 09:50 AM. Reason: fix typo
Old 06-14-2013, 10:00 AM
Platinum Member

Re: need to trim new brass???

dmax,

Trimming is a safety measure, and is required to ensure the case mouths don't encroach on the throat too much. The cases will tend to stretch a bit as they go through the firing/reloading cycles. Some calibers are worse about this than others, the intensity of the load as well as the way in which it was resized, and a host of other factors come into this as well. But new brass, right out of the box, should never need to be trimmed or sized. The variation you're seeing there won't be a problem at all.

We (Lapua) do recommend running new brass over an expander mandrel before the first loading, just to uniform neck tension and round out case mouths that may have been dinged or knocked out of round during shipment. Not really a reloading step per se, but just a little due diligence to make sure everything's "right" on that first go-round.
Old 06-14-2013, 10:07 AM
Silver Member