Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Need equipment advice - please help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2010, 10:49 PM

Need equipment advice - please help

Ok, so I have been shooting and hunting for many years. I’m just getting started in reloading. I will be loading 5.56 – 223 & 7.62x51 – 308. I have been killing myself trying to research products. I live by the axiom “you get what you pay for”. I would much rather pay once for high quality.

So I have decided to go with:
  • Forster Co-Ax Press
  • RCBS Trim Mate™ Power Station
  • RCBS ChargeMaster Powder 1500 Scale/Dispenser Combo
  • Thumler's Tumbler Ultra Vibe 18 Tumbler

I need advice on die sets.
  • Do I go with Redding Series A Competition Seating Die Sets or Forster Bench Rest Seater Die & Forster Bushing Bump Neck Sizing Die Sets.
  • If Forster do I need both the seater and bump neck? Other recommendations also welcome.
  • Do I need a case lube kit with the above dies?
  • Which loading books do you recommend?
  • Other than trays, funnel, canister/bins what else do you recommend I purchase?
Open to and grateful for all advice
Old 12-15-2010, 11:10 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Need equipment advice - please help

For extra gear you might look at getting the Hornady headspace gauge and bullet comparator. It is nice to check fire formed brass to only bump the shoulder just a little. And bullet seating depth is always critical. Also a good caliper. I like having a digital and dial around.

For reloading manuals, I would pick the manufacture of the bullets you are going to want to load. A Speer or Hornady is a good place to start, as you will end up with more than one. Also I would highly suggest getting The ABCs of Reloading. It was a big help for me when I was starting out.

Last edited by CLICKBANGBANG; 12-15-2010 at 11:15 PM.
Old 12-16-2010, 12:29 AM