Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

measuring jam and jump?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 11:38 PM

measuring jam and jump?

i am new to this and i am am wondering how you measure your jam and jump off the lands and what tools i will require. Thanks Tyler
Old 10-06-2011, 05:57 AM
Silver Member

Re: measuring jam and jump?

Hi Tyler,

May I suggest you take a look at this nice little tool:

Hornady Manufacturing Company :: Reloading :: Metallic Reloading :: Tools & Gauges :: Lock-N-Load Gauges-Formerly Stoney Point :: OAL Gauges & Modified Cases :: OAL Gauges :: Lock-N-LoadŽ OAL Gauge Straight 1Each

It has special brass cases you screw onto the tool and take measurements from it:

I think you will find this will help you a lot if you are not fully experienced.

Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rivers View Post
i am new to this and i am am wondering how you measure your jam and jump off the lands and what tools i will require. Thanks Tyler
Old 10-06-2011, 07:05 AM
Platinum Member

Good timing!

Go here: When a jump is jam! Or not?
Old 10-06-2011, 12:52 PM

Thank you guys very much this should help.
Old 10-06-2011, 10:11 PM
Bronze Member

I take a fired case, pop out the primer, cut a slit in the neck and insert a bullet so that the bullet can be pushed in and out of the case. Now I insert the case, close the bolt slowly, then extract the case being careful and guiding with a finger so that the bullet does not drag along the side of the action. Then I measure the overall legnth and do this about 10 times to get an average.