Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Looking to upgrade my balance, suggestions?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-12-2009, 08:09 AM
Gold Member

Looking to upgrade my balance, suggestions?

I have them cheapy RCBS that comes in that rockchuck kit. I've been using it for 8-9 years. Last night, I weighed what I thought was a 75.7 gr charge ten times and got anywhere from 75.1 - 75.8 grains. I am thinking it's time to upgrade. Any suggestions on a non-digital balance?

Thanks.

Unread 06-12-2009, 08:29 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Looking to upgrade my balance, suggestions?

Not sure which beam scale you have,(I know they made a cheep one at one time but
RCBS makes a good balance beam scale and it is a copy of the ohaus 1010 if you can find one.

I have the original 1010 and it is dead nuts on.

I also use a digital because its fast , and occasionally check it with the 1010 for accuracy.

J E CUSTOM
Unread 06-12-2009, 08:57 AM
Platinum Member

The driving force for a balance beam is gravity and it doesn't vary. Inconsistancy comes from friction at the pivot pivots, nothing else.

Clean the V bearings, alcohol and a toothpick work well. Clean the knife edges with a lighly oiled Que-tip and check the sharp edges for nicks or burrs which can occur from rough handling. Replace the bean and center the knife bar in the V bearings, don't allow the pivot ends to rub against the bearing block holders.
Unread 06-12-2009, 09:59 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomtube View Post
The driving force for a balance beam is gravity and it doesn't vary. Inconsistancy comes from friction at the pivot pivots, nothing else.