Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Loaded ammo bullet runout???

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:17 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,844
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart B View Post
Bottleneck cases headspacing on their shoulder align bullets in the front of the chamber equally perfect up front in all chambers. Doesn't matter how the fired cases are resized as long as there is at least .0005" clearance around the case.

Get rid of that expander, deprime cases before cleaning them then use a bushing 3 or 4 thousandths smaller than loaded round neck diameter.

Bullets don't need runout under 1% of bullet diameter.
If you say so---my dies (both) are made when the chamber is cut and the brass is perfectly prepared. Factory chambers and commercial dies are a crap shoot. There are tools that allow for correction of this problem. I don't have the link anymore but use the tool as modified with a more precise gauge.

Found it:

http://bulletin.accurateshooter.com/...-straightener/
__________________
The Truth Is Not Always Good For Business!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-20-2012, 11:10 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,114
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss Hoss View Post
Factory chambers and commercial dies are a crap shoot.
Commercial dies and SAAMI spec chambers (which is what commercial factory rifle barrels use) have been shooting well enough to win virtually all of the high power matches and set virtually all records as well as shooting test groups smaller than many current benchrest records since the early 1960's. And they don't prep their cases except for sorting by weight to 1% spread and turn necks to get less than 1/1000th spread in wall thickness.

Sierra Bullets uses commercial Redding full length sizing dies on their cases used to test their products for accuracy in SAAMI spec (or virtual copies thereof) chambers. I doubt anyone shoots their bullets more accurate than they do. Sierra doesn't do any case prep whatsoever. And they meter, not weigh, powder charges.

The only crap shoot's the way folks select and use the dies; not the way they themselves work. Especially with today's full length bushing dies.

And it's a myth that cases have to be a "perfect" fit to the chamber with minimum clearance all the way around the case to the chamber for best accuracy. Best proof of this is the M14 and M1 service rifles rebuilt to shoot 7.62 NATO mass produced ammo. With their extra moving parts having to go back into battery exactly the same for each shot, they won't be as accurate as a bolt gun. But they'll shoot a good lot of commercial match ammo under 2/3 MOA at 600 yards all day long; not too shabby at all for new cases, metered charges and bullet runout up to 3 or 4 thousandths. And mil spec chambers, too, which allow for a lot of room around a loaded round. That same ammo in a bolt gun will shoot 1/2 MOA at 600 or better and that's what the benchresters get these days as that's what their rifles shoot.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2012, 11:36 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,844
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Sorry Bart you are wrong on so many levels I don't know where to start. Been to a lot of BR matches and even won a few and have never seen a factory rifle win EVER. Either at 100 or a 1K.

Did not know that you shot BR....
__________________
The Truth Is Not Always Good For Business!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:11 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 2,608
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss Hoss View Post
If you say so---my dies (both) are made when the chamber is cut and the brass is perfectly prepared. Factory chambers and commercial dies are a crap shoot. There are tools that allow for correction of this problem. I don't have the link anymore but use the tool as modified with a more precise gauge.

Found it:

H&H Concentricity Gauge and Bullet Straightener Daily Bulletin
Boss Hoss,

I hope you're just throwing that straightener tool out there as an fyi.

For me, straightening is a waste of my time.

My perspective FWIW is that it's not so difficult to produce straight ammo. If it doesn't come out straight, then I probably did something wrong.

I prefer to simply sort/cull anything that doesn't meet my standards into the practice pile. Even then, I find that up to .005" TIR is still good for .5 MOA in at least some of my rifles. ...not BR quality. But, it's not like you suddenly go from .25 MOA to 3 MOA.

The best straightener is to fire the brass in a good chamber, figure out the problem, and reload.

-- richard
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2012, 01:14 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,844
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

.5 MOA on any of my rifles and they go back for a new tube lol. The tool above does both operations if you so choose. Problem with firing and the sizing is that Sometimes the Chamber and the Die are not different dimensions or maybe not completely concentric. This is a problem that can get very complex--even gets into brass spring back.

This will be my last post on this thread---am reminded why my visits are infrequent..
__________________
The Truth Is Not Always Good For Business!!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-20-2012, 02:16 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 2,608
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss Hoss View Post
.5 MOA on any of my rifles and they go back for a new tube lol. The tool above does both operations if you so choose. Problem with firing and the sizing is that Sometimes the Chamber and the Die are not different dimensions or maybe not completely concentric. This is a problem that can get very complex--even gets into brass spring back.

This will be my last post on this thread---am reminded why my visits are infrequent..
Well, I appreciate your responses nonetheless.

Thanks
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-20-2012, 03:32 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: greenwood, IN
Posts: 3,596
Re: Loaded ammo bullet runout???

Quote:
Originally Posted by redgun View Post
I am using a RCBS Rockchuncker press w/ Redding comp seating micrometer dies (7 WSM and 6BR, loading Berger VLD's in both) and getting bad runout on the loaded ammo. I have already added VLD seater stems to both dies.

Brass on both has been neck turned and being resized with Redding neck bushing dies.


Any suggestions as to what part of my equipment could be to blame/need replacing??
well you've stated that you have the same issue with two different die sets, so the next thing to check is what a resized case looks like. They'll also show a similar issue; my guess that is. If so, the next thing to look at is the press (here we go again). My suggestion is to find somebody with a different press, and try the same setup on their press. I simply cannot imagine you having two bad die sets in a row, although Redding did build quite a few bad 6BR dies sets a few years back. If they are bad, then good luck talking with them because 98% have zero luck with them.

I shoot for a .0025" TIR window when loading ammunition (+/- .00125"). I don't always get that number but usually come very close if I don't. If your problem comes with just the seater and not the case body's runout, then you might have a bad seater. My guess is that the sizing dies are where the runout starts, and a seater can never correct this issue. If it is in the case, start with the shell holder(s). Look closely at the surface they set on for a burr or even something that will cause the shell holder to not seat solidly in the ram (I've seen this one many times). Now take a case that you know is good, and seat in the holder, but leave the retaining mechanism slightly loose. Install the sizer die with the jam nut slightly loose, and size the case. When the case is all the way in the die tighten everything up. See if the case is good. If not, it's time to try another press.

Presses with a single spindle type rams will torque a little bit during their upwards travel. (they have no guide rods to maintain alignment.) If your still seeing runout now, pull the link bars from the ram. See how much movement you have between the bore of the press and the ram. If you see .002", you can pretty much double that for minimum runout (TIR). This issue is quite common. If the bore is bad, the fix is a pain in the butt.
gary
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Loaded ammo bullet runout???
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tumbling loaded ammo? grizlywinkleman Reloading 26 05-18-2012 06:17 PM
450-500 rds of loaded 223 ammo bhlbama Reloading Equipment and Components 0 05-23-2009 07:56 PM
Case and Loaded Round Runout question dlebeck Reloading 8 05-21-2006 12:37 PM
loaded ammo waylon Reloading 2 11-30-2005 12:52 PM
Loaded Ammo for .338 Win Mag ? Jon Bischof The Basics, Starting Out 4 02-08-2003 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC