Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Load development ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 09:03 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Load development ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowhunthard View Post
Please clarify... I'm in no way new to reloading, but I am new to bushing dies . I thought bushing size was how you changed neck tension, and how does .000" change anything?
Yeah, I am confused too. I thought changing bushing size did change neck tension. Isn't that the idea...
Old 05-10-2012, 02:45 PM
Gold Member

I didn't buy a Krieger #10 contour to worry about hot bore stringing shots.

I use the OCW method so the first round is all cold bore. I clean the bore after round 1 then fire three cool for 45-60 seconds fire three and so on. this keeps the bore pretty warm but not super hot. This will give me an idea of where my cold bore shots will be vs warm bore. Also it opens up the groups and exaggerates the OCW and scatter node. I also plan on shoot F-class type matches so I will have a good idea how the rifle behaves when hot. It also give me an oppertunity to work on shooting through mirage.

"Let glorious acts more glorious acts inspire,
And catch from breast to breast the noble fire!
On valour's side the odds of combat lie,
The brave live glorious, or lamented die;" - Iliad, Book V
Old 05-10-2012, 05:26 PM
Platinum Member

Neck tension amounts only to springback area gripping a bullet, and brass only springs back maximum that it can.
Your properly determined bushing size accounts for springback and brass thickness to provide DESIRED tension. Beyond max tension, as dependent on your brass hardness, you're only oversizing necks, which is bad.
When the bushing isn't small enough, the necks can spring back to leave little or no tension(.000").