Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Lee collet dies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 02:15 PM
Gold Member

Lee collet dies

I've been reloading for quite a few years now with redding bushing and standard dies. I'm using a t7 press and decided to buy some collet dies for the girlfriend's .243. I set them up to there instructions and it doesn't seem right. I'm using the neck sizing die. Anybody set these up that knows the proper way?

Old 07-14-2009, 02:17 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Lee collet dies

What doesn't seem right?

I just screw them in until they touch the shell holder, then I turn them in about 2 more turns (this is so the collet will work). As long as I'm getting enough neck tension, then I'm happy.

AJ

My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought, cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives

Last edited by AJ Peacock; 07-14-2009 at 02:27 PM.
Old 07-14-2009, 02:23 PM
Silver Member

Lee Collet dies? Gee, I didn't even know he was sick!
Old 07-14-2009, 02:45 PM
Gold Member

I have found that I can't screw them in as far as the instructions recommend without crushing cases. I start at one turn past the shell holder, then bump it in slowly until I get the neck tension I'm looking for. I am using a Rock Crusher press.

I always install a locking nut (Hornady) so once I find a setting I like, I can lock it down. Once you have that, your good to go the next time.
Old 07-14-2009, 03:59 PM
Silver Member

If the die is used, the collet may be worn.
Old 07-14-2009, 05:10 PM
Platinum Member

The Collet is the best neck die for factory rifles made today, IMHO. It does have a moving part so some folks have difficulty with it.