Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Lake City reload problem?????

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2013, 09:09 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 122
Lake City reload problem?????

I loaded a bunch of Lake City brass a while ago. I think it was military 5.56. I know I had to swadge the primer hole to load it. I shot just a little of it but not much. The other day I went out and shot some and at one point I tried to clear the chamber using the charging handle but the darn thing was so hard to get out I just shot it out. I had to do that a couple of times. I also had a couple of fte during that session. I came home and loaded a mag with the reloads and tried to run them though by hand and had maybe 50% of them hard as the devil to get out of the chamber. I took about 30 of them apart and reloaded them paying particular attention to the sizing die and making sure I did what I could to make sure it was sized properly. I then loaded two batches of 15 but one .05 shorter coal than the other. I ran them through the rifle but had the same problem. The action runs smooth with no problems at all. I had a box of factory American Eagle rounds and decided to run them through to see if it was my reloads or the rifle. Well the American Eagle ran smooth as silk. No problem easy in and out. Ok I got my loading book,one of my reloads and one of the American Eagle factory loads. Both were under the max in all measurements but the Lake City was .03 large just before the rim than the American Eagle. Still at the max measurement but but larger than the American Eagle. The rifle is chambered for 5.56, which I think the Lake City is but the America Eagle is .223.

Has anyone else had problems with Lake City cycling in their AR's?

thanks or the help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2013, 09:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ND
Posts: 27
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

I assume you are full length sizing. How long is the brass? If the oal of the brass is to long it could be getting pinched in the chamber.

I have reloaded many LC brass, and many other makes of surplus 5.56, with no trouble. As long as it is all properly resized and trimmed to length, you should have no more problems with the rifle functioning with LC brass, than you would with commercial brass.

Was this all fired through your rifle once before? Or are you buying fired surplus brass? I guess either way, if it is sized correctly it shouldn't matter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2013, 09:21 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 198
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

Try a small base die:

RCBS Small Base Sizer Die 223 Remington
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2013, 09:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: ND
Posts: 27
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

Unless he has a real tight chamber, I would think that a regular full length sizer should allow the round to come out. Alot of AR chambers are a little looser than what you would find in a bolt rifle to allow for more reliable feeding.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2013, 09:43 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 122
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

Thanks guys.

As far as I can see the Lake City and the American Eagle are just about the same size wise. I really can't find much of a difference. Case length is correct. I think go back and check several more to see if I can find a problem. I am using the Lee full length sizing dies.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2013, 10:21 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Souderton, Pa.
Posts: 122
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

yeah they are the same. The only variance is one inch up from the base of the case it is supposed to be .358 max. Lake City is .360--.361. I don't see any scrape marks on the brass but I'll tell ya what. I'm afraid to shoot these for fear of the casing not comin out of the chamber. The American Eagle cycles fine.

Oh yeah I bought the brass. Pretty sure it was military once fired. Or that is what I was told. Problem is I loaded 1000 of them for a pd hunt. I guess I shot about 100 and didn't notice a thing until I got home and wanted to clear the chamber. Man that Lake City is in there tight

I bought this rifle about 2 years ago. It's a Smith and Wesson Sport. Not sure if they are noted for tight chambers or not.

Should that RCBS die work with 5.56 brass? Can't even imagine taking 1000 rounds apart then reloading them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2013, 12:19 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 746
Re: Lake City reload problem?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludicrous View Post
^^^

This is the solution to your problem. Milsurp brass comes to you having been fired in much looser military chambers. A full length sizer die will not size enough at the case head to fix this. That is why a small base die is needed.

If you take one of the loaded rounds that is giving you trouble and try to chamber it in a bolt action .223, you will be able to feel the bolt camming the round into the chamber. If it will, in fact, chamber at all. You AR has much less camming power to feed or extract your rounds.

Yes, you will need to pull your bullets and properly resize your cases with a small base die. This is a good example of why one should do careful load development when loading for semi-autos, including function testing, before loading large batches of ammo.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
I currently have hunting preference points in the following states

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC