Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

How hard is it to learn to reload ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2013, 04:33 PM
Bronze Member

How hard is it to learn to reload ?

To start off, I have ZERO knowledge of firearms. I will be buying my first rifle this week-end but, I have noticed many people prefer to reload their ammo either from a cost analysis or simply wanting more than the standard, off the shelf ammo offers.
Could someone explain How much of an investment in equipment would be, How much of a learning curve it takes or, being brand new to firearms should I stick to off the shelf ammo for my Savage .270 ?

Also, if buying off the shelf ammo, is there one particular brand that would be best to buy?
Old 04-24-2013, 04:36 PM
Silver Member

Re: How hard is it to learn to reload ?

all of my reloading stuff cost me around 1000$ I however bought the best stuff that I could. If you were to buy Lee stuff it could be done much cheaper.

Unless you only shoot the very most common bullets I would recommend you reload.

It is not hard to learn however you need to put the time into research so you fully understand what you are doing.
Old 04-24-2013, 04:42 PM
Platinum Member

It's not hard. It's just very time consuming. It's kinda nerve-wracking at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second-nature to you.

I also bought good stuff, and didn't buy a starter kit, as most of that stuff I wouldn't use.

I bought all RCBS stuff. I also bought a RCBS ChargeMaster 1500 setup instead of a beam scale. Saves lots of time and energy.

"Give me a minute...I'm good. Give me an hour...I'm great. Give me 6 months...And I'm unbeatable." - Col. Hannibal Smith

Ignore everything I say, because I have a reading comprehension and memory problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WildRose View Post