Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Help with norma brass

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2008, 09:01 PM
Bronze Member

Help with norma brass

I am having a rifle built and trying to have everything I can ready for when it comes in. I have baught some Norma brass and was wondering what are all the things that need to be done to prepare the cases. I have never used Norma brass before so was just wondering what was neccessary to prep it. By the way they are 300 wsm.

Thanks for any info.
Old 12-20-2008, 09:11 AM
Platinum Member

Re: Help with norma brass

If you chamber isn't a tight neck I would sort by weight.Run them through a die to make sure the necks are round.Load and shoot...I have done very well in 1000 yard BR with a 300wsm using this method
Old 12-22-2008, 12:07 PM
Silver Member

tx,

Here is what I do with any new brass I get in.

Inspect - case / measure neck thickness / check primer pocket roundness
Weigh -
Run through sizer die -
Neck down to spec -
Re-weigh -
Separate by weight & load
Re-weigh again & Separate
Test
Document all data!!!!!

Hope this helps. Bill

NRA life Member

US Army 79 - 85, 368th Combat Battalion, Sarget Spec-5, Combat Engineer

A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed.
Old 12-26-2008, 08:19 AM
Bronze Member

Thanks for your help and I will try the things mentioned. Any info given is appreciated as this is my first try as a true longrange set up. I still have a few months before I get my new rig. So any and all help given will be put to good use.
Old 12-27-2008, 11:51 AM
Gold Member