Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

flash hole,primer pocket,& crimping

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2009, 09:01 PM

flash hole,primer pocket,& crimping

Does prepping your brass to this extent really increase your accuracy that much.I have also been told that crimping will increase volocity and accuracy. I am new to reloading and just trying to learn all I can. thanks in advance to any replys.
Old 11-07-2009, 12:38 AM
Platinum Member

Re: flash hole,primer pocket,& crimping

volunteerbee,
I have read of these steps being done one at a time to see whether they did or didn't enhance accuracy. Seems like the writers concluded that individually they didn't amount to squat, most of the time, but together they helped. I will say that with reloading, consistency is a key factor. That goes from brass prep, to powder charges, to bullet seating depths. I think alot of our accuracy improving operation were adopted from the BenchRest community and if it helps them shoot bug-holes, it has to help the rest of us.
I do de-burr the flash hole on all my brass. This only has to be done once and the theory is that it aids in perfect ignition, everytime (consistency). I do clean my primer pockets each time I prep my brass. I don't like that crude on my casings, not sure that it hurts anything, just a personal peve. There are alot of other steps that are used but you have to settle on what works for you and develop a consistent routine. JohnnyK.

- Ronald Reagan

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Old 11-07-2009, 04:45 AM
Silver Member

Crimping is for handguns and gas guns, but not always gas guns. Flash hole is for consistency. Primer pocket is for reliability.
Old 11-08-2009, 04:57 PM
Platinum Member