close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

First time using Pro chrono for rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 07-08-2013, 09:23 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 85
First time using Pro chrono for rifle

Have a 300 Rum 26" barrel 1-10 twist.Use reloader 25 load used 90.grs 210 grs berger bullets and 0.005 off the lands.first shoot was 3211 ,then 3156,3180,3211,3200,3194.is this variation acceptable or should they be more closer to each other like only a couple of feet per second difference. It was a bright sunny day would that cause variation like this.Like I said its my first time shooting a rifle through the chrono.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 07-08-2013, 10:38 PM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2013
    Posts: 5
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    That is a pretty good extreme spread.

    I would confirm that the actual velocity measured is accurate within reason.

    Try changing primers, make sure your COAL is consistent, back off the load a little bit? 3200 FPS is a pretty stout load. Some powders shoot best at max, some run best slightly below max from my expierience ( limited)

    New Barrel? how many rds through it? signs of fouling?

    What distance was the Chronograph from the muzzle? Some chronographs require 15-20 ft from magnum loads to get accurate readings
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 07-08-2013, 10:40 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,547
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    If the chrono was closer than 18 ft. move it out and reshoot.

    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 07-09-2013, 11:39 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
    Posts: 6,068
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Rottenron View Post
    Have a 300 Rum 26" barrel 1-10 twist.Use reloader 25 load used 90.grs 210 grs berger bullets and 0.005 off the lands.first shoot was 3211 ,then 3156,3180,3211,3200,3194.is this variation acceptable or should they be more closer to each other like only a couple of feet per second difference. It was a bright sunny day would that cause variation like this.Like I said its my first time shooting a rifle through the chrono.
    I have a Prochrono and overall it seems to be fairly accurate. It does spit out some off the wall numbers occasionally and i have seen it give averages that were different by 50 fps and more with the same load on the same day under different light conditions. I would recommend shooting your loads on overcast days. I set mine up at about 15' but Broz's recommendation of 18' is probably a good one.

    You might also try 215 or 230 Hybrids in your RUM. Significantly better BC's and LR bullets than the 210's.
    __________________
    - Mark

    You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
    ~ John Quincy Adams
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 07-09-2013, 08:58 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2010
    Posts: 85
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    I am using Rem 9 1/2M primers.I did have the chrono 18' away and the rifle is knew .It only has 29 rounds down her.I did have 10 rounds already through it and did not clean it before i tried it through the chrono and the coal is the same on all the rounds.What primers would you recommend to uses.I appreciate all the help.Got to get all the bugs worked out before I go on my elk hunt this year. First time elk hunting
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 07-10-2013, 08:10 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Location: deer park, wa 99006
    Posts: 152
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    Also remember that that chrony (and most others as well) is +/- 5%. That could be 15-30 fps off. Double check by shooting at 400-500 yards and measure your vertical spred
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 07-10-2013, 01:05 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Northern MN
    Posts: 234
    Re: First time using Pro chrono for rifle

    Lots of things might come into play here....Sunny days are rough on a lot of chronos...reflections off the bullet can cause premature timer starts or trips....

    Another thing you mentioned is only 29 rounds down the tube....Makes me suspect that you may still be using "new" brass.....Usually it takes me 2 or three firings before the brass has stabilized.....

    The list of course goes on & on....(powder charge variance, primer seating, neck tension etc.)

    Your SD for the six shots was just a tad over 19....That is about 1/2 the way there already...My guess is the next time you try (on an overcast day) with two or three fired brass that your ES and SD will be a lot better.....

    Good shooting,
    Randy
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC