Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Finding Max OAL for specific bullets

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 09:51 PM

Finding Max OAL for specific bullets

This is my first post, I've been gathering very useful information as I started reloading and begun to shoot long range, so thanks for helping me not blow myself up!

Anyways back to the post, so I've been trying to find the best way to measure OAL for each bullet and haven't found anything really consistent till I started playing with my caliper. I know I'm not the first but let me know it this is an accurate way of measuring out to the lands. Ill be using a Nosler 165gr BT chambered in .308 as an example:

- Remove bolt, Drop a bullet down the barrel (wiggle it around) then measure from a set point on the bolt entry to the bullet (needs 6"+ caliper)- 6.606"

- Drop a fired casing in and measure from the same point to the rear of the case- 4.822" (this number will not change between bullets)

- so now subtract these two numbers (1.784") then add in the length of the bullet (1.215") which gives you a final result of 2.999 for max OAL

I've tried the marker,smoke, and loose bullet techniques but this is the only way I got the same number everytime. Let me know if this method seems accurate. And also where should I start my load length at? I always hear " back off a little" but could use some actual numbers, thanks

Measurements done on Remington 700 ADL .308 SA 26" barrel
Old 10-02-2013, 12:44 AM
Bronze Member

Re: Finding Max OAL for specific bullets