Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

Emptying factory brass

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2011, 11:13 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Coldwater michigan
Posts: 507
Emptying factory brass

I have a question about loaded factory rounds. I am wanting to use the brass in the loaded factory rounds that I have in boxes. I am mainly wanting to save barrel life and not put unessesary rounds down the barrel just to get empty brass to start working up loads for my 7RUM, or my 300RUM.

I am wondering: would it not be wise to pull the bullets from the factory rounds and start with fresh brass? But then there is the live primer. What should I do about that? Do I fire off the live primer so I can put in the desired primer? I dont think it would be wise to try and deprime live primers and resize to start loading my own loads. I just have all this brass sitting in boxes that is unfired and I dont want to burn through all those rounds just to get empty cases to start up my own loads. Does anyone have any suggestions? Would it hurt my rifle if I were to pull the bullets and empty out the powder and fire just the primer? I don't think that I can deprime a live primer can I?

Thanks for any thoughts or opinions. Or slaps across the face for that matter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2011, 11:31 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thunder Basin, WY
Posts: 1,788
Re: Emptying factory brass

I have decapped live primers, but was very carefull about it. I wasn't very comfortable doing it, but I've done it. I used a hand decapper and wore a leather glove. I pointed both ends of the case away from me and wore safety glasses. Likewise, I've fired primers only too. I don't know for fact if that is harmful in any way to the barrel, I kinda doubt it would be. I just cleaned the barrel/chamber after I did it just in case.

Curious why you bought factory ammo if you aren't going to shoot it.....don't they sell virgin brass for those cartridges?
__________________
Aim small = Miss small
SBruce

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2011, 12:04 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Coldwater michigan
Posts: 507
Re: Emptying factory brass

Yes they do sell virgin brass. I just had a few boxes of each laying around unfired for quite some time now. I didn't see a reason to fire all those factory rounds just to use the brass, and increase barrel wear at the same time. And I don't nessesarily want to buy more brass when I have a bunch right here, but it's in the factory loaded stage. Plus it will save me one firing too, not that it is a whole lot, but it's one more firing. All I really want out of those factory rounds is the brass.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2011, 12:20 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Coldwater michigan
Posts: 507
Re: Emptying factory brass

I hope to clear something up here.

I didn't go out and buy factory ammo just for the brass, I've had this factory ammo ever since I purchased the two guns, I just had a few boxes of each come with each rifle. Then later I decided I should handload, because it just makes way more sense. I do see what you were saying tho, and just wanted to clarify that. I am going to need some virgin brass tho, for my 300rum and 280rem. I will be looking to stock up a little on those two.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2011, 01:06 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,279
Re: Emptying factory brass

I understand how one can get factory ammo that in the end you really don't want to shoot, (or reloads for that matter) so no slap in the face intended.
1) The bullets I've pulled either kinetic, or collett never seem to perform as well at the range as unpulled bullets. So for me they're suspect at that point, useful for fireforming, offhand practice or donated to someone more interested in volume shooting.
2) Powder is also not useable in my mind.
3) Depending on circumstances I've chambered and "popped" primers. I've deprimed on the press carefully with eye protection and good gloves. I've never had one go off. I don't know if it helps "old hands" when I was young soaked them overnight in WD-40. I decided the additional mess wasn't worth it.
4) Then you've arrived at your goal of reloadable brass.
The technical side of it's pretty straight forward, your question would it be wise only you can answer. At the cost of components it would be a shame if you can't find someone to buy them, or trade with.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2011, 05:37 AM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas born and raised
Posts: 746
Re: Emptying factory brass

Just a suggestion,

You could use the factory rounds as a standard when you start to develop your loads. That way you will at least have a set velocity for the particular bullet weights they are in. They can also be used for case expansion measurements as well. While you might work up to and past their potential, at least you will know your somewhere in the ball park when you get there.

Once your done with them you will have once fired and formed cases that fit your chambers.

while I do not head out and purchase factory rounds on a regular basis, I do keep a box or so of commonly weighted ammo around for the above reasons. It helps out when I start from scratch with a new rifle, powder or sometimes to simply to get a scope on paper.

As a plus for me, they also work out for the occasional feral hog or coyote that wanders into range of the back porch, up at our place in the country.
__________________
Later,
Mike / Tx

My Photo's

"Heck why would I lie, most folks don't believe the truth when I tell them"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2011, 07:56 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Mountians of SW NC, near Asheville
Posts: 1,596
Re: Emptying factory brass

Goodness. Shoiot it, the barrel wear will be virtually meaningless. Or pull the bullets and use the factory primers as they are. Or pull and decap in the sizer normally; live primers are just primers, not dynamite but they won't go off unless you slam the press lever down. And if they do go off, the blast and particle residue will be trapped by the top of your die. Decapping by hand with a hammer and punch is far more risky to your eyes than doing it in a die on the press.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: Emptying factory brass
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTS: 300 Win Mag Brass and Factory Ammo wolf10t Reloading Equipment and Components 6 06-24-2011 04:43 PM
WTT: Rem 700 bdl LA LH factory stock for 300wm brass cookjp Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 0 08-01-2010 07:55 PM
Creating tight neck brass for a factory chamber Alaskan338Lapua Reloading 10 06-11-2009 04:51 AM
Lee Factory Crimp Die- brass life eric2381 Reloading 6 04-20-2009 04:28 PM
243 factory ammo, brass, few reloads. 6.5BR Reloading Equipment and Components 0 11-30-2007 11:39 AM

Current Poll
Spot & Stalk or Ambush For Western Deer?
MOSTLY - Spot & Stalk - 73.77%
1,021 Vote
MOSTLY - Ambush - 26.23%
363 Votes
Total Votes: 1,384
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC