Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

duplicating factory loads??

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2010, 06:37 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: outside Houston, Texas
Posts: 51
duplicating factory loads??

does anyone know where i can find the reload information for factory loads if it exists? i have a 7mm rem mag and the federal premium vital shok's with the 150 gr nosler ballistic tip in it shoot almost literally a hole in a hole at 100 yds. which acceptionally good for factory ammo.
basically im tryin to find a shortcut to a load rather than spending all the time and money to test load after load till i get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2010, 06:52 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fort Morgan, Colorado
Posts: 327
Re: duplicating factory loads??

Replacating a factory loaded cartridge is usually all but impossible, though I did figure out the Remington factory load for the 338RUM 250 grain loads. One reason it can be so hard is because sometimes the factories will use non-canister powders, that means propellents that are not available to hand loaders. If you want a shortcut to a decent load for your rifle you can use the same brand of brass and exact same bullet then choose a powder that gives around 88% load density. That has worked well for me a time or two. Also, if you open a factory loaded round and weigh the powder charge and see if the powder looks familiar you can compare it to a reliable reloading manual to see if something lines up. Good luck and above all be safe!
__________________
Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2010, 10:20 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: outside Houston, Texas
Posts: 51
Re: duplicating factory loads??

well if i had to make a guess on what powder i would have to say that its most likely a alliant powder considering that they are a partner company of federal.... now whether or not they use a powder in their factories that is available to the public thats a different story.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2010, 01:57 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 77
Re: duplicating factory loads??

I agree with Gun Poor. The factory can use a mix of powders also. But also come into question of which primer they used? Primers are not all the same! Different primers burn different! Even from lot to lot! So one might burn hotter which will raise pressure and one might not. Also if you want to duplicate a factory load you have to keep OAL the same. So there are alot of variables you are just going to have to figure out. Factory loads always seem to be near maximum loads and that factory loads are made to chamber in alot of rifles. So they are made to SAAMI specs. That way they perform in all types of conditions and different rifles. So are going to full length size your cases or just neck size the cases? Well good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2010, 04:45 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,080
Re: duplicating factory loads??

Chronograph a minimum of ten factory cartridges (more is better) , compute the MV, ES and SD. Then choose components that are reasonably close, with a powder you believe is nearly identical. Be certain OAL's are the same. When you match the same MV, your reloads should shoot just as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2010, 05:54 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 99
Re: duplicating factory loads??

If you find a factory round you like, just buy the bullets as components, re-use the brass and buy a powder and primer that apply.

I copied .22-250 Hornady 50gr V-Max rounds this way. I used the same COL and adjusted powder until the velocity was the same.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2010, 07:36 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 250
Re: duplicating factory loads??

IMR7828 gives 87% load density and a velosity about 3150 fps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: duplicating factory loads??
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duplicating a stock buckbrush Long Range Hunting & Shooting 6 08-16-2011 05:18 PM
Factory loads deserthntr Reloading 14 06-16-2010 02:29 PM
.308 factory loads chemist Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 2 01-27-2010 05:14 PM
duplicating machine splattermatic Gunsmithing 4 04-26-2008 12:14 AM
300 rum factory smk loads dakotagoon Long Range Hunting & Shooting 1 09-20-2004 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC