Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

does this factory load have too much pressure?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #22  
Old 06-29-2012, 05:56 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,105
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Well they are right about both things, primers are fine, pin hole could be a little sloppy, but this still doesn't explain the heavy extration, id still check the head space if it were me, 3150 with a 154 in a 26" barrel is mild to me, I can run 162s and 168s that fast in a 24" barrel.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-29-2012, 06:55 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by backwoods83 View Post
Well they are right about both things, primers are fine, pin hole could be a little sloppy, but this still doesn't explain the heavy extration, id still check the head space if it were me, 3150 with a 154 in a 26" barrel is mild to me, I can run 162s and 168s that fast in a 24" barrel.

yes, i think thats my next plan, get the head space checked at.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-29-2012, 10:15 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The high desert of wyoming
Posts: 155
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

In my rem 700 in. 308 win. the primmers look the same as yours, evan with very light loads. My local smith confirmed it has a larger than normal fireing pin hole. It still shoots great, so what the primmers ring like that.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-05-2012, 10:57 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 53
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by backwoods83 View Post
Have a gunsmith put a go gauge in it and check it.
Just to get back to you i did take it in and yes you were correct the headspace was very tight. Thanks so much for all the info you folks have passed on throughout this thread. gettin' fixed proper as we speak!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: does this factory load have too much pressure?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.243 fusion Factory showing high pressure fmsniper Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 2 06-19-2011 12:48 PM
.260 load pressure problem Gota6.5 Reloading 7 02-09-2011 06:09 PM
Factory Amom high pressure sings 400bull Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 7 11-19-2010 09:16 PM
.204 Load/ Pressure signs? ovastafford Reloading 3 04-17-2010 05:09 PM
pressure issue factory ammo Water Swatter Reloading 0 03-08-2009 03:54 PM

Current Poll
Do you archery hunt for elk?
YES - 32.68%
84 Votes
NO - 49.81%
128 Votes
Not yet, but I plan to. - 17.51%
45 Votes
Total Votes: 257
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC