Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

does this factory load have too much pressure?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 06-28-2012, 05:53 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,103
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

I don't see anything to worry about, I would just have a gumsmith check it out, put a firing pin spring or Tubbs/Callahan speedlock and check the protrusion, won't cost a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-29-2012, 02:52 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: hamilton new zealand
Posts: 21
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Hey blacknzr1 i had a 223 that had the same issue turned out to be a tight chamber got a 1/2 thou more headspace and i was away laughing what did the gunsmith say about head space.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-29-2012, 03:38 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by madcharlie61 View Post
Hey blacknzr1 i had a 223 that had the same issue turned out to be a tight chamber got a 1/2 thou more headspace and i was away laughing what did the gunsmith say about head space.
well i thought my gunsmith was pretty good until i showed him the rounds. i had the gun with me in its case too. but he just said it was a hot round. he did say there was some thing in the action (cant remember what he called it) that can catch and not help feeding. he said the random round he picked up did show evidence of it. but he wasnt worried.
(the scuff mark was just above the magnum belt, running length ways. but only about 3 or 4 mm long)
but he never once mentioned head space.

i wonder.. would i expect the same problem with a more mild hornady round/case.... as in would it still be a bit tight.

i must say, i can definatly feel its a bit tight, but it doesnt really bother me much. its just the point that its like that. im kind of used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-29-2012, 08:43 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,103
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Is it just the Hornady ammo that's tight? The scuff mark is where its being pushed over the feed lip, that's normal, a tight factory round isn't. Most remingtons I've dealt with were the opposite, they had excessive headspace, some will say that if a .006" or .008" no go gauge will go in it, its still ok, which isn't horrible if you reload, but if you always shoot factory, that's a good bit for the case to have to grow.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-29-2012, 12:38 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by backwoods83 View Post
Is it just the Hornady ammo that's tight? The scuff mark is where its being pushed over the feed lip, that's normal, a tight factory round isn't. Most remingtons I've dealt with were the opposite, they had excessive headspace, some will say that if a .006" or .008" no go gauge will go in it, its still ok, which isn't horrible if you reload, but if you always shoot factory, that's a good bit for the case to have to grow.
there fine to chamber, its once its fired or gone off then when i eject it, its tight to come out.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-29-2012, 12:56 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,103
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Sounds like excessive headspace, take 2 live rounds, put 3 pieces of trimmed scotch tape on the case head of one and 4 pieces on the other, that's .006 and .008" thousands, try to chamber them, don't force them, and be extremely careful. If your not comfortable doing this, don't. Find a new gunsmith with gauges. You can also measure a factory vs fired case with a caliper if you have one.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-29-2012, 05:46 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

this is what the tech department at hornady said...

, looking at the pictures, I would say that the primers look good. They still have a good amount of radius at the edge of the primer. The slightly raised portion could be the result of a firing pin channel that is on the larger side. I donít think it is anything to be concerned about. Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: does this factory load have too much pressure?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.243 fusion Factory showing high pressure fmsniper Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 2 06-19-2011 12:48 PM
.260 load pressure problem Gota6.5 Reloading 7 02-09-2011 06:09 PM
Factory Amom high pressure sings 400bull Rifles, Bullets, Barrels and Ballistics 7 11-19-2010 09:16 PM
.204 Load/ Pressure signs? ovastafford Reloading 3 04-17-2010 05:09 PM
pressure issue factory ammo Water Swatter Reloading 0 03-08-2009 03:54 PM

Current Poll
Where in the US do you live?
West of the Mississippi River - 61.09%
934 Votes
East of the Mississippi River - 36.69%
561 Votes
On the Mississippi River on a houseboat - 2.22%
34 Votes
Total Votes: 1,529
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC