Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

does this factory load have too much pressure?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #8  
Old 06-27-2012, 10:13 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,150
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Have a gunsmith put a go gauge in it and check it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2012, 10:34 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 53
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

yes that is the plan, i just contacted a smith yesterday and am to bring it in right away to get looked at.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:38 PM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

well iv asked alot of people. some have seen the rounds in person, as allways you get a few different answers.

so iv come to this...
first off this is a factory load, and i will bet hornady has done alot of testing before selling to the public. and i have seen no other "horror" stories after searching.
this seems to come up alot... "There are no ejector slot scuff marks on the brass".
and this "The edges of the primers are still round"
then usually, i hear the pressures are fine!

now the reasons why some signs are showing...

'The burr where the firing pin hit is caused by excessive pin protrusion and has nothing to do with pressure. Thats all fine too'

"Carry on, the sticky extraction may be due to a batch of soft brass or just very tight head space in your rifle versus the sizing of Hornady versus rem brass. All good." (this is about how the hornady brass is tight and the remingon isnt. to eject)

these quotes are from an email i got from a guy some of you may know, who i greatly respect his opinion. Terminal Ballistics Research (nathan)

just look at all the reasearch and load development he has done.
and of the two people that did say to me.."hmm i dont know the pressure is getting up" also said if anything it is a warm load, they didnt say it was hot!

so thanks for all the replys. like i said everyone has there opinion and some differ, i expected that. i value every one of them. it is a good load, and at least im going to use up what i have, then maybe switch to a higher 162 round for the higher b.c or start hand loading.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-27-2012, 11:48 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,150
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Just a thought, if you start reloading toss the crap hornady brass, it'll likely save you a lot of frustration. And no there is no real sign of pressure, if it was you would see a buldge at the case head, and I see a lot of model 700s with binded up firing pin springs causing weak hits and the primer trying to flow back in the pin hole.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-28-2012, 12:09 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

Quote:
Originally Posted by backwoods83 View Post
Just a thought, if you start reloading toss the crap hornady brass, it'll likely save you a lot of frustration. And no there is no real sign of pressure, if it was you would see a buldge at the case head, and I see a lot of model 700s with binded up firing pin springs causing weak hits and the primer trying to flow back in the pin hole.

ok, because iv never reloaded, is the case head, the end were the projectile is?
isnt mine doing a strong hit, hence the burr around the strike on the primer?

yes, i wasnt going to use that brass if i started handloading. thanks!

my gunsmith who said the rounds look warm,who kind of said, i dont know if you should carry on. also said, that some 700's have a burr somewhere in the action that makes extraction hard, and he could see the mark on some of my fired rounds. so another reason why releasing and extracting is difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-28-2012, 12:31 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,150
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

The part of the case I'm reffering to is just ahead of the belt on the end with the primer. A hard hit can cause them to look like that, but its usually a weak hit that does, pressure spike almost like a hang fire but much faster. The lack of force on the firing pin is allowing the primer to try and push back into the hole, usually if its hitting real hard with about .040" protrusion it will just leave a deep crater without the edges rolled up.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-28-2012, 01:17 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: new zealand
Posts: 96
Re: does this factory load have too much pressure?

ok. i know what you mean. and you must have a fair bit of experience because it makes sence.
so... if anything i may have a firing pin problem. but is ok for now, as far as i understand.
its interesting because the rounds in the pictures are the latest, i took a look at some of the earlier rounds, and theres no burr around the strike. therfore, yes, i would guess the firing pin has weakened a bit.

thanks for your experienced opinion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads for: does this factory load have too much pressure?
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
.243 fusion Factory showing high pressure fmsniper Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 2 06-19-2011 12:48 PM
.260 load pressure problem Gota6.5 Reloading 7 02-09-2011 06:09 PM
Factory Amom high pressure sings 400bull Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics 7 11-19-2010 09:16 PM
.204 Load/ Pressure signs? ovastafford Reloading 3 04-17-2010 05:09 PM
pressure issue factory ammo Water Swatter Reloading 0 03-08-2009 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC