close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

Do you Reload 410 GA ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 01-02-2010, 10:20 PM
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas / Oklahoma / Boarder
Posts: 690
Do you Reload 410 GA ?

I need some help .

I am looking to Get In to Reloading 410 Ga .

Have you reloaded them before .

I was told that they was an Pain in the Butt to Get an Good Crimp on the End of the Shell .

Can you tell the Good Bad or any thing else about Reloading 410 Ga .

I Reload 12 Ga an 20 Ga know .

I am Looking to Buy an Mec 600 JR 410 Ga

What else is out there To Reload 410 Ga ?
__________________
7 MM STW

Kill more Coyotes

Feed The Buzzards
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 01-02-2010, 10:57 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: Wilmington NC
    Posts: 4,751
    Re: Do you Reload 410 GA ?

    go to the shotgunworld forums and they have a whole section on reloading with the 410 experts.

    http://www.shotgunworld.com/bbs/view...b9a86bd44379d1

    BH
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 04-12-2011, 03:46 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Apr 2011
    Location: Wisconsin
    Posts: 42
    Re: Do you Reload 410 GA ?

    i reload 12g too but don't waste your time on 410s. the hulls alone will empty your wallet.
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 04-12-2011, 03:56 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2007
    Location: Townsend, Montana.
    Posts: 8,548
    Re: Do you Reload 410 GA ?

    I use to shoot a lot of 2 1/2" .410's shooting skeet. I reloaded tons of them on a MEC 650 progressive. They do require more time as they as so small that feeding wads into them is a bit touchy. And yes the crimps probably do not have as high of a percentage of perfect ones as 20's or 12's, but you will be fine with them once you get your crimp die set at the right depth. The good news is they take a lot less lead and powder so it is a cheap process once you have your equipment. I should add I was using an over-under and didn't have to worry about crimps hanging up in a mag tube either. Also I was using Win. AA hulls.

    Good luck with your venture. .410's rock and when you bust all 25 targets you have earned a pat on the back.

    Jeff
    __________________
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 07-25-2011, 06:05 AM
    Junior Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2011
    Posts: 1
    Re: Do you Reload 410 GA ?

    The 410 is really a lot of fun to shoot and cheap too when you reload. I have been reloading .410 for about two month. I started with the larger gauges, down to 28. If you can successfully load the other gauges you will do just fine with the 410. I use Alliant 410 and claybuster wads. Start with your own Win AA hulls and take care of them. I was surprised myself as i hit significantly better with the .410 than i did with my 12 ga. Thanks for sharing.
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 07-25-2011, 11:19 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: greenwood, IN
    Posts: 4,027
    Re: Do you Reload 410 GA ?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by redbone View Post
    I need some help .

    I am looking to Get In to Reloading 410 Ga .

    Have you reloaded them before .

    I was told that they was an Pain in the Butt to Get an Good Crimp on the End of the Shell .

    Can you tell the Good Bad or any thing else about Reloading 410 Ga .

    I Reload 12 Ga an 20 Ga know .

    I am Looking to Buy an Mec 600 JR 410 Ga

    What else is out there To Reload 410 Ga ?
    find a Mec Grabber, and learn to use it. The trick with shot shells is getting the brass sized along with the star crimp (some are six and some are eight). Forget deer slugs, as they take a completely different setup that uses a roll crimp. I've never seen one for a .410, and the smallest I've ever seen was for a 20 gauge. I use a Mec 650, and a seperate sizer for the brass, and I'm not sure if a 600jr will size the brass.
    gary
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Do you Reload 410 GA ?
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    need reload help OKIE2 Reloading 11 05-14-2011 11:37 AM
    Reload help for 98B Linkin Reloading 2 05-06-2011 06:34 PM
    Reload dirtboy Long Range Shotgun Slug Hunting 0 11-05-2010 09:42 PM
    Reload 17 for 300 WSM 400bull Reloading 21 09-02-2010 03:45 PM
    Is this everything I need to reload? Troutslayer Reloading 5 10-13-2008 10:13 AM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC