close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

Do you need to size brand new cases?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 09-10-2013, 03:23 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Do you need to size brand new cases?

Do I need to size brand new Remington cases straight out of the bag?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 03:52 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Posts: 1,045
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    yes,
    unless you trust the guy that inspected/bagged/shipped 'em.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 04:04 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2003
    Location: NC, oceanfront
    Posts: 4,053
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    Not if they hold bullets & fit in the chamber.
    You should still prep them though. At least trimming if needed, put a chamfer to mouths before seating, etc.
    1st firing is 1st fire-forming brass to your chamber
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 07:53 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Posts: 982
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    You don't need to FL size them, but I always run new brass through a neck die to ensure the case mouths are round and true. If you don't have a neck die, you can still use a FL die to accomplish the same thing, just leave the die out of the press 2-3 full turns from contact with the shell holder.
    A good chamfer also helps on the inside of the case mouth.

    Good shooting!

    Cheers.
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 08:09 PM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2004
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 7,000
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by MagnumManiac View Post
    You don't need to FL size them, but I always run new brass through a neck die to ensure the case mouths are round and true. If you don't have a neck die, you can still use a FL die to accomplish the same thing, just leave the die out of the press 2-3 full turns from contact with the shell holder.
    A good chamfer also helps on the inside of the case mouth.

    Good shooting!

    Cheers.

    +1

    I Go one step further, After I size them, I trim them to length and turn the outside of the necks
    just enough to clean them up and then weight sort them to look for culls.

    This lets me start with "Good" brass and makes working up loads easier, saving time and components. It also assures good fire forming to my chamber and for 4 or 5 loads I don't have to
    do anything to my brass

    Just the way I do it.

    J E CUSTOM
    __________________
    "PRESS ON"
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 09:11 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: Carlsbad, NM
    Posts: 162
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    I've even gotten cases with dinged up necks from Lapua. I imagine that with visible damage to necks (presumably from bouncing around during shipping/handling) that there is invisible neck deformation at times. Sizing should eliminate this.
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 09-10-2013, 09:18 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: 62966
    Posts: 99
    Re: Do you need to size brand new cases?

    I always do just to make sure I have no case mouths out of round then I trim them all to length. One time while doing this I noticed one case went into my .243 die too easily. Turns out there was a 7mm-08 case in a bag of .243 brass.
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC