Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Do Berger bullets require a different reloading style

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 01:09 PM
Silver Member

Do Berger bullets require a different reloading style

I started playing around yesterday with some once fired cases. I will tell you that I am not all that smart when it comes to reloading, I am the grasshopper here, I could not get a dummy load to chamber in my Remington Sendero 300 RUM. I even tried seating the bullets "berger 185gr" to the same depth as some factory remington ammo and they would not chamber. Then I tried again this morning and reset my full length resizer die in the press and went to run a case up in there and whamo stuck the case bigger then you know what ***** Can't get it would and cabelas does not have the stuck case remover and can't get it to move, so I bought a new set of die's. Can anyone tell me what I may be doing wrong here??????? Please

Chuck

It was a cold morning and could the die have shrunk???? causing the case to stick????
Old 02-22-2010, 03:09 PM
Bronze Member

Re: Do Berger bullets require a different reloading style

Can we assume you lubed the brass before running it up the die?
Old 02-22-2010, 03:14 PM
Platinum Member

Chuck,

Hmmmmmm......

Will a resized or unresized fired case chamber?

When mine stick similar to yours the base has increased in size a bit.

To remove the stuck case, VERY carefully run a cleaning rod from the muzzle. Mark where the end of the muzzle is on the rod when fully inserted. Then tape an inch on both sides of the muzzle mark.

I flat hate to do this and and have only had to do this maybe twice in 40 years.

Something to keep in mind is that overall cartridge length from tip of point to base of cartridge is necessary for magazine fit only.