Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading


Reply

decision on chronograph

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #15  
Old 07-21-2013, 11:54 AM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
Posts: 5,954
Re: decision on chronograph

Agree with BnG. My ProChrono and Shooting Chorny have given me big shifts in velocity with changing light conditions, not to mention spreads of 5 fps to 60 fps when set up back to back with the same load and light conditions. Anyone using these instruments to determine the consistency of their load is using unreliable data IME.

I haven't heard of anyone yet saying the MagnetoSpeed has significantly altered their groups. Some have said there may be a slight shift in POI, others say can't tell the difference. In any case, once you've fired a few rounds of a particular load and have an accurate MV to work with, you don't need it anymore.
__________________
- Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-21-2013, 11:55 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western NC
Posts: 126
Re: decision on chronograph

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1AShooter View Post
I've had a Chrony Gamma for about 10 years, and it would always record the MV on the display, but only send to the printer about 8 or 9 out of every 10 shots. It recently started giving me similar error messages - completely out of the blue. Chrony said to clean the sensors (which I already had). It's dead and I'm looking for another brand. :-O

I traced mine down to a broken wire (the flat ribbon wire on the inside that connects the 2 sensors... I took care never to pinch it when I closed the unit - but it still gets crammed in there if you leave the phone line cable inside...
Shooting Chrony needs to beef up this wire significantly if they want to compete with the other brands.... I love the folding, portable concept, but it really needs to be beefed up to withstand normal use.

As for the talking about "nodes".. for people who don't know what this means: When a bullet is fired down a barrel, it spins with an insane amount of speed and force, cause the barrel to actually "whip", image a sine wave (up and down like waves on an ocean) - then image this is in 3D, going up and down while also rotating in a circle.
Some barrels/twist rates will shoot wonderful groups when they are thrown at a "sweet spot" in velocity.. and groups suffer if you go over or under that sweet spot - this is the node concept.

The barrel "whipping" is why everyone wants a thicker, stiffer barrel - but engineers realized quick that YOU SIMPLY CANNOT eliminate the flex/whip - the key to accuracy is finding an accurate node/speed window that causes the barrel to flex/whip EXACTLY the same way, every time. You will also find that if you stick in the velocity sweet spot, nearly all bullets will shoot well.

And of course, you'll never identify that sweet spot without an accurate chronograph.
__________________
"It can be - done quickly, done correctly, or done inexpensively ... Pick any two."

"A government big enough to give you what you want, is strong enough to take what you have." -T. Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-21-2013, 12:09 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
Posts: 5,954
Re: decision on chronograph

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damascus View Post

And of course, you'll never identify that sweet spot without an accurate chronograph.

I wouldn't say that... An accurate chronograph can be a valuable tool, but it isn't required to find an accurate load. I have found a number of accurate loads with cheep chronos. I look at the groups. That's what counts.
__________________
- Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-21-2013, 02:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 28
Re: decision on chronograph

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damascus View Post
I traced mine down to a broken wire (the flat ribbon wire on the inside that connects the 2 sensors... I took care never to pinch it when I closed the unit - but it still gets crammed in there if you leave the phone line cable inside...
Shooting Chrony needs to beef up this wire significantly if they want to compete with the other brands.... I love the folding, portable concept, but it really needs to be beefed up to withstand normal use.
My wiring is a little chafed where it got pinched when the unit was folded, but it appears to be just the clear covering over the three wires. Unless there's something internal at one sensor or the other, but I get alternating error messages indicating both sensors. I think you're right; I think it's a wiring issue and I also think Chrony does need to address that in their design and construction.
__________________
M1AShooter
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:13 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 142
Re: decision on chronograph

Is a magnetospeed at Brownells, $300 with shipping and tax, really worth the money compared to a Prochrono at Midway for $140 with shipping??? Is the magnetospeed going to be a lot more accurate, consistent and reliable ???

I know it is not sensitive to light conditions at all, but is the magnetospeed really worth the extra money??? Thats what I'm wondering.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-21-2013, 04:34 PM
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South of Canada and North of Wyoming
Posts: 5,954
Re: decision on chronograph

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax1800 View Post
Is a magnetospeed at Brownells, $300 with shipping and tax, really worth the money compared to a Prochrono at Midway for $140 with shipping??? Is the magnetospeed going to be a lot more accurate, consistent and reliable ???

I know it is not sensitive to light conditions at all, but is the magnetospeed really worth the extra money??? Thats what I'm wondering.
Yup, I own a ProChrono and overall it gives fairly good info but it will give a range of readings depending on light conditions on the same load.

Back in June, Broz sponsered a Long Range shoot in Townsend. We set up his Oehler, my SuperChrono and then 4 of us, Me, Broz, bigngreen and Barnesuser, each shot our rifles over them ranging from 223 to 338 LM with the Magnetospeed attached to the muzzles. The MagnetoSpeed agreed with the Oehler to within a couple of fps when corrected for distance to chrono. Shot to shot variance was very low and averages were extremely close between the 2. That made a believer out of me and my next chrono will be a MagnetoSpeed.

My ProChrono will be up for sale for a good price before long if you're interested
__________________
- Mark

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-22-2013, 07:06 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 142
Re: decision on chronograph

I took most everyones opinion and ordered a Magnetospeed V1 this morning. I hope it is as accurate and reliable as everyone says it is. It was also reassuring to talk to Magnetospeed and hear that when tested against an optical camera, their magnetospeed was 99.99% accurate.
Thanks to everyone who helped me make this decision.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Current Poll
Have You Ever Backpack Hunted?
YES - 62.20%
1,035 Vote
NO - 37.80%
629 Votes
Total Votes: 1,664
You may not vote on this poll.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
All content ©2010-2014 Long Range Hunting, LLC