Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

decision on chronograph

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2013, 07:54 AM
Silver Member

decision on chronograph

I'm new to long range shooting and reloading. I've used the optimal charge weight method to develop a load for my 300 win mag. I think that I've got a load that will work. I've been having problems with the load not being consistently accurate from day to day. I sometimes shoot when its in the 70s and low 80s which might explain the inconsistency. I'm wondering if a chronograph would help determine what is going on with the consistency.

I've looked at reviews on Midway and Brownells and talked to Chrony, CED, Oehler, and Competition Electronics. CED says that lab testing in Germany shows that their M2 is about as accurate as an Oehler (99.6% and 99.8% accurate), but the M2 got a lot of 1 star ratings on Midway. CED also said that theProChrono is 95.4% accurate. CED says that their chronograph is used at a lot of shooting competitions. The ProChrono has a lot more 5 star ratings than 1 star ratings on Midway and Brownells tech recommends ProChrono. There are both good and bad recommendations here on LRH for both the M2 and ProChrono. The Shooting Chronys tend to get several bad recommendations on Midway and here on LRH.

A lot of guys here on LRH say that a chronograph is useful in developing a load for long range shooting. My gunsmith says that he couldn't develop a load without one, but he is in to custom rifles for ELR shooting. I'm trying to decide if a chronograph is worth $120 to $200. Then if it is worth the money, which one do I get?

Can you help a newbie???
Old 07-19-2013, 08:22 AM

Re: decision on chronograph