Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Chrono Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2011, 07:30 PM
Silver Member

Chrono Question

I've been reloading for a little over 4 years now and have never shot thru a chrono until this week, in the past id just work up different loads until id find the most accurate load and never worried about how fast they shot, I purchased a Savage LRH 7mm a couple months ago and have found a couple loads that shoot great so I borrowed a friends chrono and was just going to use which ever load shot the fastest since they all group the same on paper, when I shot thru the chrono I had a variance of 300 fps between 9 shots of the same load, I measure out each load individually and know they are all the same, so I grabbed my AR15 and my bolt action 223 and shot them thru the chrono and only had a variance of 12fps between the 2 guns and I use the same process to load for all my guns, any ideas why my 7mm is so inconsistent
Old 06-30-2011, 07:40 PM
Silver Member

Re: Chrono Question

how close to the chronograph were you shooting? A 300 fps variance seems far too extreme to me to be consistant POI. If I had to guess I would say that the chrony was being affected by muzzle blast from the bigger gun to get that big of a difference. When shooting my bigger guns ( well big to me anyways) I have had the chrony out as far as 30 ft to get a proper reading on it. Hope this helps.
Old 06-30-2011, 07:48 PM
Silver Member

I had it about 2 feet in front of the barrel guess I had it to close ill have to try it out farther thanks
Old 06-30-2011, 09:04 PM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdrman View Post
I had it about 2 feet in front of the barrel guess I had it to close ill have to try it out farther thanks