Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

case trim length vs. SHORT freebore

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 03:11 PM

case trim length vs. SHORT freebore

Hello all...new to the forum (end up here every other time I search something) so I decided to join up with what appears to be a great bunch with a wealth of knowledge.
I'm a gulf war veteran & have called the oilfield home for the past 17 yrs. Grew up in the marshes of SW Louisiana & guided duck & goose hunts for several years...deer & turkey are my passion though.
I recently had a custom 25-06 built on a remmy 700 action (#4 Hart, Jewell trigger & McMillan precision stock). The thing will shoot .350 to .400" groups at 100 yds w/ factory HSM bergers. Then I tried a box of Nosler custom 100 grain Partitions & couldn't even close the bolt on one. Called my gunsmith for the reamer dimensions & he stated it was a 25-06 remington match reamer (.288 nk & .035 freebore). I knew immediately the C-shaped ogive on the Partition was cramming the lands. The SAAMI freebore spec is .104 !
Considering how well the gun shoots & the fact that I will be handloading with Wilson Dies, this short throat may not be a problem.... In fact may prove beneficial as the throat starts eroding. My question is, should I trim my cases a hair shorter with this minimal freebore? I'm relatively new to reloading so any experiences or opinions you guys have with short throats would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-30-2012, 04:37 PM
Platinum Member

Re: case trim length vs. SHORT freebore

Welcome
As far as I know trim length is set only to allow clearance from chamber end, and holds no correlation with the freebore.
I trim tight at 5thou under chamber end, as determined through measure.
Old 05-30-2012, 04:43 PM
Bronze Member