Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

bullet seating accuracy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 03:16 PM

bullet seating accuracy

I am kind of new to reloading. I used to use a lee classic handloader but now have a press. With the handloader it was very time consuming to get perfect seat depths, not just because bullets are man made objects and therefore are not 100% uniform, but also the fact I was using a mallet to seat it.
But even with the press and the die set tight I still manage to under seat or over seat and have to constantly "baby" the depth into place. How do you more experienced loaders get the depth perfect without growing older trying?
Old 08-23-2013, 03:47 PM
Platinum Member

Re: bullet seating accuracy

How are you measuring/defining your "depth"?

You will never know how much it has cost my generation to preserve your freedom. I hope you make good use of it.
~ John Quincy Adams
Old 08-23-2013, 05:15 PM

I use a hornaday digital caliper and look for overall cartridge length off the lands.
Old 08-23-2013, 05:56 PM
Silver Member

if you are useing the same bullet (and this can change from one lot number to another) than after you set your depth on your seat die you should be good to go.
I use the Lee positive seat system it has no ability to crimp and the die is screwed all the way down to the shell holder. When locked in place all of my bullets are the same over all length
Old 08-23-2013, 07:59 PM
Platinum Member