Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Bullet damage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 02:49 PM

Bullet damage

I'm new to reloading so I don't know if this is normal or not. I'm reloading for a 308 using new win. brass sized using a forester bench rest die and 175gr smk bullet. When I seat my bullet I notice that a small amount of the jacket is shaved off. I would think that it would be bad for accuracy.
Old 03-26-2010, 02:59 PM
Silver Member

Re: Bullet damage

Yes, indeed it is. You may not notice it at short range, but long range that will sure show up. Are you chamfering your case mouths prior to seating the bullet? Shaving jacket material usually indicates either way too much case neck tension, or not chamfering mouths adequately. I've switched to a VLD-style chamfer tool. It has a sharper angle to it, so it eases those bullets in better, and less likely to damage the jacket.

Hope this helps,

Brian
Old 03-26-2010, 03:41 PM

I'm using the RCBS chamfer/ deburring to. I actually noticed more consistant bullet damage after using it. I will try the VLD chamfer and see how that works. When using these tools how much effort do you put into it?
Old 03-26-2010, 04:08 PM
Silver Member

Doesn't take much. I just run about 1.5-2 revolutions of the tool, and that seems to work well for me. Mine's a Lyman, but RCBS, Sinclair, and others make them as well.

I had one set of dies that oversized the neck excessively, and put too much neck tension (pull) on the bullet. Even w/ chamfering those cases sized in that die would shave jacket material off. Switched to a new die, and problem went away...

Luck,
Brian
Old 03-27-2010, 07:25 PM

I measured the sized case mouth and it's I.D. was a little under .306. When I measured the bullet it was .309. Is 3 thou to tight?
Old 03-27-2010, 08:57 PM
Silver Member