close
Long Range Hunting Online Magazine


Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Berger Bullets

Reply

Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 08-12-2011, 08:15 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 11
Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

Hey guys, my buddy is helping me develop a load for my 300 RUM. At the range yesterday he had 6 different loads of 210 Bergers. They were loaded with a COAL of 3.680. Quite simply, the bolt would not close with them seated so far out. Factory ammo and some other handloads that were seated deeper had no problem. My question to you is what is the longest COAL you are getting away with. FWIW my gun is a Rem Sendero SFII in 300 RUM and I'm using 210 Bergers and 180/200 Accubonds with Nosler brass. Thanks in advance.
Mark
Reply With Quote
  •   #2  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 08:55 AM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: So. Utah
    Posts: 405
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    Every gun will be a little different in what the chamber tolerances are. I would consider buying a Hornady COAL guage for your rifle. If you are reloading anyway, then it will be to your benefit to know what the chamber is for your rifle. If you are wanting to know the "safe" COAL. Then SAAMI specs are written in every Reloaoding manual.
    __________________
    If you always do what you've always done, you will always get what you've always got.
    Reply With Quote

      #3  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 10:06 AM
    Platinum Member
     
    Join Date: Nov 2005
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 1,845
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    Edited
    __________________
    The Truth Is Not Always Good For Business!!

    Last edited by Boss Hoss; 11-09-2011 at 06:48 AM.
    Reply With Quote
      #4  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 02:33 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Posts: 190
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    Did your buddy resize the brass correctly? If so did he measure and trim them to spec? 3.680" COL doesn't sound out the relm for the 300RUM as I'm testing some 200 grain hybrids for Berger in my 300 RUM with a col of 3.729" I suspect it's your brass have your buddy pull a bullet and measure the case I bet they are either too long or not resized correctly? If the bullet was seated too far out when you went to eject the loaded round the bullet would have pulled out of the case did this happen?
    Reply With Quote
      #5  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 03:31 PM
    Silver Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Texas
    Posts: 416
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    The way I do it is,take a case that has been fired in the rifle,but not resized.Next,mash the end of the neck on a hard surface just enough to give the bullet you will be using,some resistance when you insert the bullet in the neck by hand.You should have a tight fit,but still loose enough that you can push the bullet in by hand with a little resistance.Next,pull the bullet out far enough that you know it's quite a bit longer than it should be if it were a loaded cartridge.Next,open the bolt on your rifle and gently slide the case with the overextended bullet into the chamber and slowly close the bolt.Next,slowly open the bolt and carefully remove the cartridge.Now measure the COL and repeat the steps above several times to make sure you get the same measurement.Now you have the COL for your rifle with the bullet you've chosen to the lands of the rifle.I usually seat in from that COL,around 20-30 thousands and start my load test from there.
    Reply With Quote
      #6  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 06:32 PM
    Gold Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Idaho
    Posts: 581
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    Is this new brass or fired brass?
    How did you come up with that OAL.
    I am guessing the shoulder of the brass needs to be bumped a slight bit more
    but cant be sure not enough info in you post
    I think to safely work up a load you must measure your camber to get a accurate distance to your lands
    retiredcpo
    Reply With Quote
      #7  
    Unread 08-12-2011, 06:42 PM
    Bronze Member
     
    Join Date: Jun 2011
    Location: Fayetteville, Ga
    Posts: 52
    Re: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM

    Will your resized unloaded brass chamber and does your bolt close?
    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks

    Thread Tools
    Display Modes


    Similar Threads for: Bolt won't close on 300 RUM
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    Need Help With .300 WM Loads (No Accuracy) (Bolt Hard To Close) DougD Reloading 12 09-27-2014 11:40 PM
    WTB: Savage Bolt and/or Bolt Face and bolt parts VjjR Gun Parts - Stocks, Barrels, Actions, etc. 5 10-01-2012 01:42 PM
    close range hunting,way too close uncleB Long Range Hunting & Shooting 12 05-21-2012 05:57 PM
    Bolt is hard to close with new handloads Oliveralan Reloading 37 11-17-2009 02:49 AM
    .338 AM So Close Yet So Far joecool Equipment Discussions 13 11-30-2006 09:26 PM


    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.


    Powered by vBulletin ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
    Content Management Powered by vBadvanced CMPS
    All content ©2010-2015 Long Range Hunting, LLC