Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Best Press For Precision Shooting? (Single Stage vs. Turret)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2006, 11:55 AM
Gold Member

Re: Best Press For Precision Shooting? (Single Stage vs. Turret)

Hi Bart,
Maybe i should explain that by accurate, i meant accurately loaded ( inline, concentric etc ), rather then accurate shooting.
I take a lot of notice of what the benchresters are doing regarding their handloading techniques ( i shot UK Benchrest for 2 seasons) and try to integrate them into my own habdloading program.
I think its unfair to presume that i take all of my ques from the BR community, that would be a pretty blinkered outlook.
I have been handloading now for 23 years, for pistol, precision, Benchrest, BPCR and now purely because i enjoy it.
I like to think that i have picked up tips from all forms of handloading and combine the best ideas in how i put together my ammo today.

Ian
Old 11-20-2006, 07:53 AM
Platinum Member

[ QUOTE ]
Maybe i should explain that by accurate, i meant accurately loaded ( inline, concentric etc ), rather then accurate shooting. I take a lot of notice of what the benchresters are doing regarding their handloading techniques ( i shot UK Benchrest for 2 seasons) and try to integrate them into my own habdloading program. I think its unfair to presume that i take all of my ques from the BR community, that would be a pretty blinkered outlook.

[/ QUOTE ]Ian, thanks for clarifying your "accurate" issue. It's been my experience that proper use of conventional presses and dies will make ammo to the same standards of uniformity as the hand ones used by many benchresters. The only exception is to not use an expander ball in the sizing dies but have their neck sizing part a couple thousandths of an inch smaller than loaded round neck diameter.