Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Best Neck Turning Tool

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 10:51 AM
Silver Member

Best Neck Turning Tool

I am new to all of this stuff. I am having two guns built. In two weeks I will take possession of my 280 AI being built by a local gunsmith. I have decided to buy some Lapua 30-06 brass, turn the necks, resize & then fire-form to my gun.

I've never turned necks before in my life, so can someone post what is the best neck turning tool for me to get? My two biggest requirements are quality and ease of use. I've read that the K&M has some sort of gauge that makes it easier to use but am not sure what that means.

Thanks in advance!
Old 10-17-2010, 12:22 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Best Neck Turning Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffwhip View Post
I am new to all of this stuff. I am having two guns built. In two weeks I will take possession of my 280 AI being built by a local gunsmith. I have decided to buy some Lapua 30-06 brass, turn the necks, resize & then fire-form to my gun.

I've never turned necks before in my life, so can someone post what is the best neck turning tool for me to get? My two biggest requirements are quality and ease of use. I've read that the K&M has some sort of gauge that makes it easier to use but am not sure what that means.

Thanks in advance!

I use a Sinclair that has a dial indicator on it. It works pretty good, but is a pain when you want to shift the cutter because they built the body out of aluminum, and the cutter assembly is steel. Steel and aluminum do not work well together, and will sieze over time. I made another just like it, but made the body out of a piece of O-1 gauge stock with a much better quality cutter. Like an idiot I gave it to a buddy of mine thinking I'd build another! Of course I never did.