Long Range Hunting Online Magazine

Go Back   Long Range Hunting Online Magazine > Rifles, Reloading, Optics, Equipment > Reloading

Reloading Techniques For Reloading

Baffled ???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2012, 03:31 PM
Platinum Member

Re: Baffled ???

I'm far from an expert, but just for comparison sake, have you tried seating your primers with a hand priming tool, & comparing the two methods?

I kinda lean towards the theory mentioned earlier about a certain amount if "crush fit" possibly being involved in the actual seating. I know it's strictly theory, & no one is advocating, or implying to use excessive force of any kind while seating primers, but it makes sense if you think about it for a while.

"I have No idea why that cop made me ride in the back seat, when I Clearly called Shotgun!"
Old 08-19-2012, 05:58 AM
Platinum Member

Pull down the sliding primer cup on end the RCBS priming arm to expose the piece that does the primer seating. There will be a small hole running through it. Run a small rod through the hole and tighten the seater rod. ( I use a jeweler's screwdriver) Every so often I notice high primers and this is the fix.
Old 08-19-2012, 07:31 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZShooter View Post
Pull down the sliding primer cup on end the RCBS priming arm to expose the piece that does the primer seating. There will be a small hole running through it. Run a small rod through the hole and tighten the seater rod. ( I use a jeweler's screwdriver) Every so often I notice high primers and this is the fix.
Thanks for the tip AZ. I previously removed and reinstalled the plunger, looking for a problem at that point. The parts have been in constant use for decades and need to be replaced. I just ordered a new priming arm and plunger/cup/spring.

While I can't see this as the problem, it is worth a try.
Old 08-19-2012, 07:41 AM
Bronze Member